Will this case/PSU support my system? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2006, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default Will this case/PSU support my system?

I have an ok system that I like to take to LAN parties, however it is in a full sized server case so its hudge and it weighs a ton.

System Specs:

250gb WD HDD
AMD 3700+ Athlon 64
2gb DDR 400
ATI x1900xt 512mb
MSI Neo4-F Socket 939
MSI 500 watt PSU
Sony DVD+/-RW
Sony DVD-Rom
Sony Floppy Drive


Well anyway I want to get a Micro-ATX case and a Micro-ATX motherboard (Because obviously my ATX one will be useless).

I've looked at a bunch of Micro-ATX cases online and my absolute favorite is the Aspire X-Qpack:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144161

Plus this motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186085



Well anyway, I'm not sure if the 420 watt PSU that comes with this case would be enough power to support my system. Also I dont think my 500 watt PSU would fit in there because that case needs one of those small form factor PSUs I think.

So can my system run on in that case using it's stock PSU, and if not could I take some parts out of my system to reduce its power consumption to make the case/PSU useable, and if that doesnt work, does Newegg or any other website sell more powerfull PSUs that are compatible with that case?
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

It says right in the description that it is an ATX 420 watt PSU (that's the standard) so your psu will fit.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

The Height by Width of the PSU is standard ATX, however they shrank the length of it down to make it fit. Just look at the pictures... the psu is not a typical standard ATX.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That's the first thing I did was look at the picture. Its a standard ATX power supply. If it wasn't the standard ATX size they wouldn't say ATX power supply. ATX is a standard which means if it wasn't the ATX dimensions then it wouldn't be called an ATX psu. I don't know what is so hard to understand about that.

*Edit - That is an 80mm fan in the middle It sure looks full size to me, And Apevia's site also calls it an ATX Psu.

http://www.apevia.com/product.php?pid=176

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Take a close look at that PSU:







Just look at that PSU... you can't possibly say that is the size of your standard ATX PSU?


Quote:
*Edit - That is an 80mm fan in the middle It sure looks full size to me, And Apevia's site also calls it an ATX Psu.
Yes it does have an 80mm fan in the middle. Most ATX PSUs have room for a 120mm fan in the middle. This one barely has room for the 80mm let alone a 120mm.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Listen I am not going to argue with you, It says ATX power supply that means it is an atx power supply (IN ALL WAYS) That is by know means a small case. Why don't you fire off an email to them and see what they say.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-20-2006, 08:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Ok, lets just stop arguing about if its standard ATX or not.

What I need to know is if I use that stock 420 watt PSU that comes with the case, will 420 watts be enough to power my system?
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I emailed them for you this is my question

Quote:
Hi I am going to buy an X-QPACK-BK/420 case like this one
http://www.apevia.com/product.php?pid=176
And I have a few questions

Will the PSU handle a system with these specs

250gb WD HDD
AMD 3700+ Athlon 64
2gb DDR 400
ATI x1900xt 512mb
MSI Neo4-F Socket 939
MSI 500 watt PSU
Sony DVD+/-RW
Sony DVD-Rom
Sony Floppy Drive

Does this case accept a standard ATX power supply. And will the atx power supply I already have fit into this case.

Thanks in advance
This is their response

Quote:
1.All standard size Micro ATX motherboards will fit into this case. If you try

to remove motherboard from name brand systems such Dell, HP or Compaq, mostly

they won't fit.

2.CPU cooler:not exceeds 2.85" height.

3.Video Card:The case will take Video Card up to 10" in length.

4.You can use standard size ATX PSU, 150mm x 145mm x 86mm (5.9" x 5.7" x 3.4") -

W x L x H. Just make sure your 5.25" drives are short versions(Lite-On and some

Sony drives are short version), otherwise they won't fit. I believe these days

most of the 5.25" drives are short versions. Also keep in mind, it is going to

very tight fit.

you have to make sure what is the power requirement of your new system.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-23-2006, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i just got that case for my brother and the psu wasnt quite as big as a regular atx but it wokrs in an atx case
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.