Will this build work, please comment. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2010, 02:27 AM   #31 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

depending on what your selling an how much im in the market
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-08-2010, 02:09 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

I can get that case from amazon, with free 2nd day air. !!!! or 3$ next day.

I know what I am going to be doing!

Amazon.com: Corsair Obsidian Aluminum Full Tower ATX Enthusiast Case CC700D (Black): Electronics


Can you please post up some good 120mm fans for the top?


(i've been reading reviews to see if my sigma(unicorn) would work or not, seems like people have to mod it to get a decent heatsink in the case, so it is a for sure upgrade now.
__________________

erick123 is offline  
Old 08-08-2010, 08:05 PM   #33 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

this is the best i could do with the fans. 4 fans for under $20 that are dead quite and move a reasonable amount of air, especially with 3 of them in the top of the case ( which i recommend you do ).

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER R4-S2S-124K-GP 120mm Case Fan

only gripe i have with these fans is that i dont think they come with a 3 pin to molex adapter, so you would have to plug them into your mother board or get a 3 pin to molex adapter. in which case id get this:

4-Fan Wiring Harness, 3-Pin - infotechnow.com - Computer Store

and im sure you have 1 molex to 3 pin adapter. just plug all those fans into that wiring harness and then that hole harness into that molex adapter. it will keep things neat and tidy if you dont have a 3 pin to molex adapter lemme know ill send one to you for freeeeeee
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 01:19 AM   #34 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

Sean,

Is overclocking a CPU/GPU/RAM hard?

I don't have the slightest idea on how to even begin to do a overclocking procedure.

I know my guy said can get it to 4.0ghz "pretty easy".(so if that is easy, how fast can he get it???)

But what about the GPU/RAM? (or should I even touch this?)

Thank you.

Wow, that was a lot to take in....

I just read a sticky...

I think I will just pay my guy to do it.
erick123 is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 01:41 AM   #35 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

The 930 hits 4.0 pretty easily, my 930 is at 4120MHz stable, had it at 4140 for a few days and it crashed, don't know if that was from OC or from something else so I turned it down.

When overclocking there are two main things to look at: clock and voltage. The clock is how fast the CPU runs. The higher the clock, the faster (and more performance) your CPU (and other components) will be. However, if you push the clock too high your system may become unstable (it will crash with blue screens while running or even at boot-up). On the other hand, voltage has little to do with CPU speed other than that the CPU can execute single instructions faster at higher voltages. Increasing the voltage allows you to push the clock higher without going unstable because of this, but increasing the voltage also increases power consumption (and thus heat output) of the chip. To get a good overclock you need to finely tune the clock and the voltage together and then test to make sure your system is stable and that the temperatures don't get too high.

To adjust the clock on an i7 system, there are a few main things:
BCLK: Base clock, this is the clock frequency of the chipset that is used to calculate the frequency of CPU and RAM as well.
RAM multiplier: This number is multiplied by BCLK to get the RAM speed. Note that DDR ram (of any type) is double data rate, so the real speed is 2*BCLK*RAM multiplier.
CPU multiplier: This number is multiplied by BCLK to get the CPU speed. This number has a locked maximum on most CPU's and is really the only difference between the 920/930/940/950/960 chips. The extreme edition processors (or Black edition for AMD) have an "unlocked multiplier" which allows for extremely high overclocking but only with proper cooling.

In general, you overclock by increasing BCLK. This increases your CPU and RAM speeds together. To get 4.0GHz on an i7 930, I would recommend a 19x multiplier with a 211 BCLK. Since 211x19 = 4009 you're right around 4GHz (a bit over too!) and this is more stable in my experience than 200x20 (exactly 4000) due to unknown reasons. The issue is that pushing your BCLK that high can mess with your RAM (the default BCLK is 133) so you'll likely have to lower the RAM multiplier too. All these settings can be found in the BIOS.

As for voltage, put your CPU VCore at 1.30, CPU QPI at 1.325, DRAM at 1.65 (or 1.66 depending on if your board is even or odd), and IOH/ICH (north/southbridge chips) at 1.16. This is my current settings that work with my particular i7 930. I hope they work for you and if they do work you can try lowering the voltages slightly to see if you can reduce them without being unstable.

To stress test and ensure stability, run either LinX or IntelBurnTest to push your CPU to its limit. These programs deliberately push your CPU so that you can see the maximum load temperatures and test stability. Use CPUID HWMonitor to view the core temperatures and make sure they stay in an acceptable range (I like to stay under 70C but the chip is rated higher, 75-80C may be acceptable but I think it's a bit too high). If any core exceeds 80 for too long stop the test and make sure your heatsink is installed properly and running at full speed. If it runs through one of those programs for several hours without crashing, the system is stable and you can use it at that speed. If it crashes, try turning down BCLK and try again until you find a level where it doesn't crash.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 01:49 AM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

nah man! overclocking is sinchy!

you got this, have your friend show you how, but dont have him do it for you willy nilly.


here take a look at these:







__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 02:09 AM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

Ok Erick, I've just gone through this thread and merged about 14 of your posts. Please try and remember to use the 'Edit Post' button, as that's what it's there for
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 07:28 PM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

Package arrived a little while ago(5PM MTN time).
Just checked everything out.
Should I send back my

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive 32mg cache.

For a

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive 64mg cache.

****, I wish seen that.




I will order the case tomm, I am going to go with the obsidian 800d after all, it is only 40$ more on amazon. + I can next day air it for 3$ with prime.

Thanks for all the help Sean/others.


This is a really great forum to be part of.




Added..


Sean, can I run 2 computer moniters on my GTX280??

I just seen a 42" 1080p vizio 120hz for 450$ at walmart. <<<< I think I will replace my main computer moniter.(now a 32")>>>>
my current is a 32" 1080p vizio 60hz, got it for $500 about a year and a half ago. (I don't know what happend but It got hot one day, now when it is cold I can see light colored splotches on the on the screen until it warms up!, I purchased the 2 year protection plan, but I tossed it!! **** IT!!! what a waste of 100$)

I am going to be needing a new vid card asap, it only has 1 gig.
erick123 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:09 PM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

nah, just keep the hard drive you got.


and im pretty sure you can run 2 monitors on that graphics card... im not sure tho... i thought you were gunna get the 5970?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 11:16 PM   #40 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will this build work, please comment.

I am going to, but that will be yet another week away

So, I am just thinking for now.
__________________

erick123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can not access our works website from work zillah Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 16 03-26-2010 10:29 PM
New Build for a friend Jumping_Bean514 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-09-2009 03:16 PM
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
Will this Build Work? yoshi1476 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-04-2008 10:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.