Will This Build Work/Any Suggestions

slmnwise

Beta member
I am planning on building a computer next month. I have very little knowledge of hardware (besides the manuals on building that I've read), but have programmed for a while. I went on NewEgg and picked out some parts, based on my needs. I am a very casual gamer (shockwave games and maybe a little TF2 every once in a while) so that is not a big priority.

The parts I picked out:

CPU: AMD FX-6100 Zambezi 3.3GHz Socket AM3+ 95W Six-Core Desktop Processor FD6100WMGUSBX

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Motherboard: BIOSTAR TA75M FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD

Video Card: PowerColor Go! Green AX6450 2GBK3-SH Radeon HD 6450 2GB 64-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

RAM: Kingston 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Desktop Memory Model KVR1333D3N9K2/8G

Case+PSU: LOGISYS Computer CS206BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer SOHO Case 480W Power Supply

I'm wondering if I need anything else. I already have an optical drive, mouse, monitor, speakers. I think I may be missing internet connectivity. The internet at my house is a NETGEAR router, and you just put a little USB thing into the computer and it connects. Is this compatible? Is there anything I bought that is a ripoff? I will install Ubuntu on it as soon as it is done, will there be any problems with that?

IMPORTANT: MY BUDGET IS $450

That processor and motherboard are incompatible with each other. You need an AM3+ board to use that CPU. If you really don't do anything that requires 6 cores I would say just got the FX 4100, or even better still drop that CPU and grab an APU that is compatible with that board. You can save a few bucks there because you need a PSU. On to that, I would chose a case without a PSU and buy a good brand PSU, as those cheapos can take out your whole system when they decide to randomly fail.