Will this build be fast enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2007, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Will this build be fast enough?

I play a lot of games like Battlefield 2. Rome and Medieval 2 total war or whatever is new and need a computer that will play them with no lag. Once I get my case and CPU cooler tomorrow I can start building this. Will this build be fast enough for the games I play now and upcoming games like Crysis and Bioshock.

Newegg.com - EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 620W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
Newegg.com - LIAN LI PC-7B plus II Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 18X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache E-IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner - OEM


I also have a copy of Windows XP Pro 64 bit and Windows Vista home premium 32 bit for an operating system. Which operation system should I use?
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

Firm yes.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

Definitely. BF2 isn't that tough of a game to run anymore. This rig will be able to get you into DX10 games for awhile too.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

SHould run those games with ease. I'd switch out the E6600 and use either the E6750 or Q6600. Read up on some good threads on the processors in this forum.

For the OS, I'd go ahead and get on Vista since you have it or unless you have alot of programs which actually have the need for a 64 bit OS. There's also a good thread on 32 bit vs. 64 bit OS's somewhere.

Most people's best guess says Vista w/ directx10 and a q6600 will be good fo r Crysis and a few future games coming out. This is pretty much the standard build others, and soon to be myself, are going to do and it should keep you satisfied for quite some time on.
Pdawg is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

While the E6600 is a good CPU, Intel released new ones. Go with the E6750 or Q6600, or maybe a E6550 if your overclocking.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

You can run both of your operating systems at once, its called dual booting. Its very easy just put each OS on a separate hard drive or make a partition to split the hard drive up. Once this is done the rest is done for you and everytime you start your computer it will ask which OS you want to start up.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 10:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

im doing that now. Running xp pro on one and vista ultimate on the other.
It gets kinda complicated sometimes for me.
But im liking vista now so with my new build thats what im gonna be using.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

cool build:

time to go over my list:

it looks perfect but u might wanna look into get a quad-core or a e6550 or e6750 and crucial ballistix ram
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 10:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

Unfortunately I bought my processor before the Intel price drops so I will be using the E6600 for now. My motherboard is quite upgradeable. I got my G.Skill ram when it was about $100 so I got a good deal considering how much they cost now. I do have another question though. How do I clean off the heatsink residue from my processor so I can apply some arctic silver and use my new heatsink.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: Will this build be fast enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saint71 View Post
Unfortunately I bought my processor before the Intel price drops so I will be using the E6600 for now. My motherboard is quite upgradeable. I got my G.Skill ram when it was about $100 so I got a good deal considering how much they cost now. I do have another question though. How do I clean off the heatsink residue from my processor so I can apply some arctic silver and use my new heatsink.
Isopropyl Alcohol, in other words, rubbing alcohol. A lot of sterilizing pads use it.

Isopropyl alcohol 90% or higher is recommended, but the more common 70% works too, that is what I've used. Also, it is recommended that you use a lint-free cloth to clean it. The most simple household item that will do the job is a coffee filter, works perfect.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM
A good AMD build.. RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-05-2007 07:00 PM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM
Checking my Build... Aynite New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-02-2007 05:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.