will this bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2005, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default will this bottleneck?

Will an amd 3700 san diego bottleneck an nvidia 7800 gtx with 512mb??
__________________

will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

No (depends on game though, but no.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

No, people don't give the processor enough credit. Its a very strong thing and won't overclock. Overclock the 3700+ a couple of hundred MHz and you're guaranteed excellent gameplay.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yeah, it'll AT LEAST overclock 400MHz. However it may bottleneck later when multithreaded games come out, so you may want to get a 4400+ X2, which is basicly like having two 3700+s.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.