Will this all work together?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Will this all work together??

Building a external hdd to put my music and other things on when i reformat is all this stuff going to work with each other?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...723457&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...175100&CatId=0

Is that all i need, i expect that the enclosure comes with the necessary software and usb cable.

P.S. Would this fan thing be a good buy or does it even do anything?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...565&CatId=1389
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I would consider a bigger hard drive.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144102

that is like 4 times more space for 2 dollars more
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

ya i should order from newegg

How about those fans they any good or are they worthless.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I dont think a 2 fan model would work all that well. It would be limited by the first fan that actually pulls the air from outside.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835888003

This one is cheap and has a helluva lot of airflow for its size.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

hmm i need one that plugs into a pci slot as i have used my last power plug i guess. I have many pci slots open.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

o I didnt know it used a pci slot for power, do you have any fans usng a 4 pin molex plug? if so then just plug in the 1 I mentioned first and on the plug there is another female end to use for the fan.


it just has a splitter in it so you dont use up your power plug, kinda like a glad air freshener with the plug so you dont loose your outlet. lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

O cool so i can plug it in to a molex plug then plug say a harddrive into the other side of the molex plug?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.