Will a - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to no_Wedge
Default Will a

Will a dual core processor work in my DFI Lanparty SLI-DR ? also what is one of the best processors out or coming out? Intel or AMD?
__________________

no_Wedge is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

It will work as long as the processor is s939.

The AMD X2's and Opteron's > Intel D's , even if intel was better you couldnt use their processor's in the amd mobo
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

on the question of the best cpu, are you going to overclock??

if not: X2, preferably 4400+ or better
if yes: Opty 165 or 170, depending on budget
Spartan is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

actually, the x2's are overclocking just as well as the opty's.I can hit 2.8 on air with my 3800 and with water i shoulkd be able to go 3ghz, same as or better than what opty 165 and 170 are doing.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by karpfish24
actually, the x2's are overclocking just as well as the opty's.I can hit 2.8 on air with my 3800 and with water i shoulkd be able to go 3ghz, same as or better than what opty 165 and 170 are doing.
Lol well then you have the best one ever. No way an x2 will usually be as good as an opteron. With an x2 a really good oc is to 2.6 ghz.
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

All of the dual core Opteron's and 4400+ and above have 2 x 1mb cache compared to the 3800+/4200+ 2 x 512kb cache but that gives hardly any performance increase. People just recommend the Opty 165 over the 3800+ is that because it overclocks just as well with 2 x 1mb cache.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

i have a 4400+ and the highest i can get it stable is 2.47ghz at 1.4 volts. I regret buying it. If you have the money go with the Opty 170. Fantastic Proccesor. Or go with the 165 if your budget is lower. Both quality proccesors.
__________________

wtk pro l is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.