will a 400 watt PSU support this? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 02:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: will a 400 watt PSU support this?

lol.. i don't know what it is with people building new systems and tossing in a cheap crappy psu. You should not go cheap on the psu. I don't care how much money your putting in your system don't go cheap on the psu. you should read a lot of reviews and crap before u go out and decide which psu you would like. just cause it has a high number of amps on the 12v rail don't mean its all that great or even if it can actually reach that many amps.

Saving money is awesome.. but cutting back on some stuff that you might think is alright might not be good.

If you want a good psu i would go with corsair HX520 or the HX620 and u can get 10 off using Google checkout over at buy.com.

edit: don't get a rosewill psu. There quality of parts are never the same. Your taking a big chance at buying one. One moment they might have some great parts the next moment they will have crappy parts.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Default Re: will a 400 watt PSU support this?

mkay so the rosewill one has 2 12V rails..that's the one I was thinking of getting. my current PSU has 20A, so I guess I'll just get the 500
__________________

Crazydog115 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: will a 400 watt PSU support this?

How did you calculate out the 34 amps?
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 65
Default Re: will a 400 watt PSU support this?

+3.3V@30A, +5V@45A, +12V1@18A, +12V2@16A, -12V@1A, +5VSB@2.5A

the +12V1 and the +12V2...i think that means it has 2 12V rails...and 18+16=34...
Crazydog115 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: will a 400 watt PSU support this?

Oh, lol, that makes sense. I feel like an idiot now for not seeing that .
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The worlds first tech support phone call. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 6 10-22-2007 04:36 PM
430 watts for a 8800GTS 320mb Marrk New Technology and Products 13 10-01-2007 12:08 PM
Financial Support? blackhawk13 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 08-24-2007 02:54 AM
HP live chat tech support superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 7 06-06-2007 03:30 PM
Petition so Support Capcom (Please Sign) Danks Microsoft XBox 10 03-30-2007 07:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.