Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2010, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

I'm interested in getting this board, and there have been conflicting reports regarding the compatibility with 1600MHz DDR3. Can anyone confirm whether this is compatible or not? Thanks
__________________

Shando is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

It will only support 1600 MHz ram by overclocking the cpu host frequency (changing the BCLK).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default Re: Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

Would that be an easy thing to do? I have no experience with overclocking
Shando is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 08:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

It's not that hard but you'll want to buy an aftermarket heatsink for your cpu as more heat will be generated.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default Re: Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

What would I have to OC the CPU to in order to get the RAM to work?
Shando is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Will 1600MHz DDR3 Work With the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R mobo?

it depends upon the cpu. You would need to increase the BCLK to 160 and then set the memory multiplier to 10 (this may be called something else).

With an i7 920 your cpu speed would be 20x160=3200 or 3.2GHz
i7 930 - 21x160=3360 or 3.36GHz
i7 950 - 23x160=3680 or 3.680GHz
i7 960 - 24x160= 3840 or 3.840GHz

Actually, you can also reduce the multiple on all of these cpu's. As an example, you could run the i7 960 at 20 x160=3200 and still be at the stock speed if you wanted to.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difficulties overclocking i7 930 CPU with Gigabyte X58 UD3R Mobo Jackrs113 Overclocking and Modding 15 06-22-2010 09:08 PM
Bios Settings for GA-890GPA-UD3H and DDR3 1600mhz Abgrund Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-21-2010 01:00 PM
Spy Pics: Gigabyte X58A-UD9 has 7 PCI-E x16 Slots Osiris New Technology and Products 11 04-15-2010 08:10 PM
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD5 feelings a1r_pilot New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-02-2010 01:24 AM
GIGABYTE X58A-UD7 Motherboard Osiris New Technology and Products 0 02-02-2010 02:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.