WIFE SAID I CAN BUILD A NEW PC! Suggestions please! Thanks - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Old 09-19-2014, 11:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Default WIFE SAID I CAN BUILD A NEW PC! Suggestions please! Thanks

Hello! I built my current PC back in 2007 (specs in sig). The only thing different is I am running Windows 8.1 32 bit now.

Its been a good PC, but it's time to upgrade.

For reference, the only (3) games that I really play is WarThunder, BeamNG and iRacing - but my profession is web/graphic/video design, so I need a PC that can handle all.

My big question is, looking below - what parts can I reuse from my old PC? Anything? I think the only thing worth salvaging is the 750W PS, but its not a modular PS so there are wires everywhere. My next build I want to do clean.

Is the i7 series still the latest and greatest for CPU? When I built my rig in 2007 I tried to go all out and get the best stuff, and even after almost 8 years it has held up somewhat well...I would like to do the same with this build.

Also, no 3-monitor setup, so multiple GPU wont be necessary - but I do plan on going 4k monitor.

Would like to stay under $1200 for the PC itself. Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse are seperate budget

Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 12:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
Default Re: WIFE SAID I CAN BUILD A NEW PC! Suggestions please! Thanks