Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2010, 04:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Try installing HDTune and/or HDTach, and running a speed test on each drive.
Ok, I downloaded HD Tune Pro 4.5 and I am running it now.

FYI, HD Tach requires Windows 2000 or Windows XP. It does not seem to work on Windows 7.

Thanks,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is online now  
Old 06-28-2010, 11:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Is the WD 1000GB defraged? This can have influence on the transfer rates.
__________________

__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 12:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by farinha View Post
Is the WD 1000GB defraged? This can have influence on the transfer rates.
Far,

Thanks for the post. Yes, it is defragged. There is almost no data on it too. I just cannot seem to figure this out.

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is online now  
Old 06-28-2010, 12:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Did you remove the jumper from the Maxtor 1T drive?

Depending on the drive model, it may have had by default a jumper limiting the transfer rate to 150MB/sec to be compatable with SATA I controllers as opposed to 300MB/sec for SATA II.




Just putting it out there. I thought I remembered having to do this with my Seagate drives.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 03:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
Did you remove the jumper from the Maxtor 1T drive?

Depending on the drive model, it may have had by default a jumper limiting the transfer rate to 150MB/sec to be compatable with SATA I controllers as opposed to 300MB/sec for SATA II.




Just putting it out there. I thought I remembered having to do this with my Seagate drives.
Even if it is limited to SATA I that shouldn't have a noticeable impact on performance since those drives aren't capable of reading or writing at more than 150MB/sec
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Since the transfer was between two HDDs, the question isn't "why is this one faster?" because the truth is that two of them must be faster and it was only one of them (the 1TB) limiting the transfer.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 05:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Ok, I downloaded HD Tune Pro 4.5 and I am running it now.

FYI, HD Tach requires Windows 2000 or Windows XP. It does not seem to work on Windows 7.

Thanks,

Soar
It works in Win7 if you run it in compatibility mode for XP. Just tried it on my system, and it works fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It works in Win7 if you run it in compatibility mode for XP. Just tried it on my system, and it works fine.
Carn, Ok, will try it as soon as I learn how to use that compatibility mode for XP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Since the transfer was between two HDDs, the question isn't "why is this one faster?" because the truth is that two of them must be faster and it was only one of them (the 1TB) limiting the transfer.
kmote, I never looked at it that way but now that you mention it, I can see that the 1tb does have a limiting factor...I just tore the system apart and sure enough, the limiting jumper is exactly as BlueHeaven posted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Even if it is limited to SATA I that shouldn't have a noticeable impact on performance since those drives aren't capable of reading or writing at more than 150MB/sec
PJ, you know, I am not sure about that, but I will remove the jumper and see what happens...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
Did you remove the jumper from the Maxtor 1T drive?

Depending on the drive model, it may have had by default a jumper limiting the transfer rate to 150MB/sec to be compatable with SATA I controllers as opposed to 300MB/sec for SATA II.

BlueHeaven, thanks for your post. I thought most drives are sent without jumpers limiting transfer rates....well, I tore into this system today, removed the HD's, and sure enough, it was exactly as you showed me in that post...

I almost forgot to look, but when I was attempting to install this HD in the new Sniper case, I saw that jumper exactly as you described and posted in the pic...

Oh, I made a mistake. This is not a Seagate, it is a Maxtor 1TB. There are four pins, and the last 2 on the right are jumpered.

I am not sure how to remove this jumper...it is different than other jumpers I have run across. This jumper actually appears broken off or only half height [I cannot remove it with my fingers as all other jumpers I have worked with]. It is kind of strange. I think I will try using a pic to get underneath it and remove it.

Anyone else have any ideas on how to remove this jumper, and why would they make a jumper that is such a pain in the rear end?

Soar




Just putting it out there. I thought I remembered having to do this with my Seagate drives.
BlueHeaven, thanks for your post. I thought most drives are sent without jumpers limiting transfer rates....well, I tore into this system today, removed the HD's, and sure enough, it was exactly as you showed me in that post...

I almost forgot to look, but when I was attempting to install this HD in the new Sniper case, I saw that jumper exactly as you described and posted in the pic...

Oh, I made a mistake. This is not a Seagate, it is a Maxtor 1TB. There are four pins, and the last 2 on the right are jumpered.

I am not sure how to remove this jumper...it is different than other jumpers I have run across. This jumper actually appears broken off or only half height [I cannot remove it with my fingers as all other jumpers I have worked with]. It is kind of strange. I think I will try using a pin to get underneath it and remove it. Is ok to use a small metal pin to do this?

Anyone else have any ideas on how to remove this jumper, and why would they make a jumper that is such a pain in the rear end?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is online now  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

As long as its not powered on, go ahead and use a stick pin. I've done it before, and its fine.

To use compatibility mode (same as in every other MS OS):
Right click the shortcut > Properties > compatibility > place a checkmark in the box that says "Run in compatibility mode for X" and pick an OS from the dropdown.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 10:22 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dr.House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rx Counter
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to Dr.House
Default Re: Why would one of my HD's transfer data 3 times faster than another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Carn,

Nope, none of my drives are green because I was afraid of losing performance just to save a couple of cents worth of energy a year....
Cache is all fine and good, but what are your RPMs? if its 5400 vs 7200 that might explain it... but that is a huge difference so several things might be at work here... do the hard drives all connect to the same controller?
__________________

__________________
Dr. House
--------------------------------------------------

Desktop:Antec Sonata Elite, MSI P55-GD80, Core i7 860 "2.8GHz, Arctic Pro 7, 8Gb GSkill DDR3 1600, 4xWD Caviar Blue 164GB in RAID5 , Radeon HD 5750
Server:Antec Sonata Elite, GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 7200GS, 4GB G.SKILL PI Black DDR2 800, 1TB array 4x640GB WB Caviar Blacks in RAID 10
Thinkpad T61 CTO 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM, 15.4" wide screen (for sale ~$800)
MacBook Pro C2D 2.2GHz 4 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM
PowerBook G4 Aluminum
Dr.House is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T Customer Support... iFargle Off Topic Discussion 20 03-07-2010 10:19 PM
Scammers scrape RAM for bank card data Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 12-09-2009 08:18 AM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Faster internet, no extra cost enigm@tic Internet Software and Browsers 3 07-09-2008 12:34 PM
GTX 280 folds three times faster than Radeon HD 3870 maroon1 New Technology and Products 18 05-27-2008 05:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.