Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2010, 11:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

A home server needs bairly anything... an commercial server needs to be a beast, btw they go up to 4 cpus and like 160Gigs of ram.

The 939 chips were top notch back then as the PIV was a flop!
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 03:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Luke, I only remember hearing a lot about the 939 sockets and that was some years ago. I think at one time they were a hot item and there was quite a demand for them. Not sure about now...And I have no clue as to what the needs of a server might be...I just read somewhere that some server boards have the ability to run two processors at one time[as in two CPU's and two sockets]....I thought that was fairly unique!

I too like to upgrade...usually about every 12-24 months...to be honest with you, I suppose it is more of a hobby than a real need. I like fast and I like to live on the cutting edge or at least near it if it does not cost me an arm and a leg.

Now about AMD's...I no next to nothing about their processors...I found the 1055T on an outrageous sale and the idea of 6 cores caught my attention in the sense of future proofing...so I purchased it. But....months later...

As I read several different posts from several different forums, I am hearing some negative things already about these new AMD CPU's and now I am not so sure about it. I have read many posts that clearly state that the Phenom 2 processors are designed to have the RAM to be run at 1333Mhz! Also, some of the posts are saying I can damage the memory controller on the CPU if I run RAM faster than 1333Mhz. The guys posting this stuff are not AMD newbies but seasoned builders and testers...If I had heard this before, I probably would have steered away from the AMD CPU's and stuck with the Intel's that have never given me even one problem in the past...

Have you any thoughts on these comments?

Soar
i honestly dont know for sure, as i have been an intel guy since after my 939 build, but i would say that is just rumor. I mean, running past 1333 and damaging the memory controller on the die? i really really doubt that, but it could be true, who knows, maybe someone more knowledgeable about new amd cpu's around here can answer that for you.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 01:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
A home server needs bairly anything... an commercial server needs to be a beast, btw they go up to 4 cpus and like 160Gigs of ram.

The 939 chips were top notch back then as the PIV was a flop!
Patonb, ok, thanks for that tidbit of knowledge on he 939 chip. Are you still into AMD's and if yes, what are all these reports about the newer AMD chips being designed to run RAM at 1333MhZ? Is it all hype or are these guys for real?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 02:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?


The mobo is what decides what speed to try to run the RAM. My mobo uses 1333 as its native, but I can bump it to 1600 which is the native speed of my RAM. Running the RAM at a speed higher than 1333 has no adverse effect on AMD CPUs other than what any overclocking would have on any CPU/mobo.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:53 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Patonb, ok, thanks for that tidbit of knowledge on he 939 chip. Are you still into AMD's and if yes, what are all these reports about the newer AMD chips being designed to run RAM at 1333MhZ? Is it all hype or are these guys for real?

Soar
My last AMD was a 939 in a laptop.... sorry.

But Trotters reasoning seems right.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 02:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

We have recommended several builds with AMD processors and 1600MHz RAM and I never heard a complain. Never heard of that problem before...
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 03:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post

The mobo is what decides what speed to try to run the RAM. My mobo uses 1333 as its native, but I can bump it to 1600 which is the native speed of my RAM. Running the RAM at a speed higher than 1333 has no adverse effect on AMD CPUs other than what any overclocking would have on any CPU/mobo.
Trotter,

Ok, thanks for the info. The people at the other site must be thinking wrong. My new MB should do just fine then setting the RAM at 1600mhZ, so I feel great about that.

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why isn't this more expensive? SWORDPLAY System Upgrades 14 05-01-2008 09:12 PM
Question about AMD's Jayvon New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-09-2006 06:06 PM
AMD's next chipset odysseus New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-29-2006 03:58 PM
AMD'S new chip robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 02-06-2006 11:51 PM
AMD's new socket aaronkupen Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 10-04-2005 01:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.