Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2010, 03:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

I am preparing to sell my used Q9550. I've been visiting Ebay and comparing prices. I was kind of surprised that the price on the Q9550's have actually gone up rather than down in price since I purchased several of them about 18 months ago. I was also surprised that people are paying more for a used Q9550 than for a new AMD 1055T.

Am I missing something here? I received a great deal on my new 1055T [a little over $100 after I sell the MB from the combo]. But the Q9550's are selling in excess of $200 for used processors...what's with that?

Can someone here explain why people are paying so much for the Q9550?

In the CPU line up, it appears there is a significant performance difference [see chart].

Chart info compliments of PassMark CPU Lookup

Soar
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Q9550 vs. 1055T chart.jpg (96.5 KB, 411 views)
File Type: jpg Q9550 vs. 1055T chart 2.jpg (96.8 KB, 408 views)
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

LGA775 has been discontinued, so I doubt that Intel is still making them. Plus, Intel chips are always more expensive.

The Q9xxx line is much better than the Q8xxx line, as well.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
I am preparing to sell my used Q9550. I've been visiting Ebay and comparing prices. I was kind of surprised that the price on the Q9550's have actually gone up rather than down in price since I purchased several of them about 18 months ago. I was also surprised that people are paying more for a used Q9550 than for a new AMD 1055T.

Am I missing something here? I received a great deal on my new 1055T [a little over $100 after I sell the MB from the combo]. But the Q9550's are selling in excess of $200 for used processors...what's with that?
There are a lot of people who will upgrade a old platform even when it doesn't make sense to do so. Socket 939 is a really good example of that as well, some of the Opteron dual cores for it still sell for more than a new Athlon II x2 + mobo costs even though they are much slower.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
I am preparing to sell my used Q9550. I've been visiting Ebay and comparing prices. I was kind of surprised that the price on the Q9550's have actually gone up rather than down in price since I purchased several of them about 18 months ago. I was also surprised that people are paying more for a used Q9550 than for a new AMD 1055T.

Am I missing something here? I received a great deal on my new 1055T [a little over $100 after I sell the MB from the combo]. But the Q9550's are selling in excess of $200 for used processors...what's with that?

Can someone here explain why people are paying so much for the Q9550?

In the CPU line up, it appears there is a significant performance difference [see chart].

Chart info compliments of PassMark CPU Lookup

Soar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
LGA775 has been discontinued, so I doubt that Intel is still making them. Plus, Intel chips are always more expensive.

The Q9xxx line is much better than the Q8xxx line, as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
There are a lot of people who will upgrade a old platform even when it doesn't make sense to do so. Socket 939 is a really good example of that as well, some of the Opteron dual cores for it still sell for more than a new Athlon II x2 + mobo costs even though they are much slower.
Ok, thanks for helping me understand this a little better. Although it will work for my good, it still makes no sense to me at all. Why would people pay more money for a processor that has less performance and fewer cores?

I suppose I will scratch my head for awhile on this one!

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

^they do it because changing sockets requires a mobo and cpu switch, while a new cpu of the same socket only requires you buy a new cpu. Sometimes if your going back old enough to ddr, well, and ddr2 you also have to change ram to get a new socket as well.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
^they do it because changing sockets requires a mobo and cpu switch, while a new cpu of the same socket only requires you buy a new cpu. Sometimes if your going back old enough to ddr, well, and ddr2 you also have to change ram to get a new socket as well.
Luke, hey, that makes sense! But I still do not see why people would invest that much money in technology that is going backward instead of forward.

Maybe they have a sentimental attachment to the MB or something...anyway, it all seems so strange to me.

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

^well i came up with several theories on this.

A) its cheaper for them to stay with the old tech and upgrade it slightly then it would be to go to new tech, they want an upgrade but they cant afford new tech. Unfortunetly for them they would be better off saving all the money they spend on the small stupid upgrades to get enough for the new tech.
B)They dont know what they are doing so getting a new cpu seems like the logical choice
C)they have a socket fetish
D)they have diminished brain function.


Just some thoughts....
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 03:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
^well i came up with several theories on this.

A) its cheaper for them to stay with the old tech and upgrade it slightly then it would be to go to new tech, they want an upgrade but they cant afford new tech. Unfortunetly for them they would be better off saving all the money they spend on the small stupid upgrades to get enough for the new tech.
B)They dont know what they are doing so getting a new cpu seems like the logical choice
C)they have a socket fetish
D)they have diminished brain function.


Just some thoughts....
LOL! I like your thoughts! Funny too!
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 03:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

The way i do upgrading is usually, 2 gpus per a build. Meaning. the same everything else, but ii'll swap out the gpu. I usually keep a build for 2 to 3 years, then completely upgrade to new tech. Not everyone can do that tho, or heck even need that, but i like to have relatively new hardware, as well i game alot sooo.

Looking at s939 cpu's, i happen to have a server that is socket 939...would be no reason for me to upgrade the cpu in it, i cant find any one reasonably priced that is better then the one i have lol, so until i retire this rig i will keep it as my server. Although i do have a 775 rig just sitting here that i have not been using, perhaps i'll convert that into the server. Anyway, im getting a little off topic lol.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 02:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Why are Q9550's more expensive than AMD's 1055t's?

Luke, I only remember hearing a lot about the 939 sockets and that was some years ago. I think at one time they were a hot item and there was quite a demand for them. Not sure about now...And I have no clue as to what the needs of a server might be...I just read somewhere that some server boards have the ability to run two processors at one time[as in two CPU's and two sockets]....I thought that was fairly unique!

I too like to upgrade...usually about every 12-24 months...to be honest with you, I suppose it is more of a hobby than a real need. I like fast and I like to live on the cutting edge or at least near it if it does not cost me an arm and a leg.

Now about AMD's...I no next to nothing about their processors...I found the 1055T on an outrageous sale and the idea of 6 cores caught my attention in the sense of future proofing...so I purchased it. But....months later...

As I read several different posts from several different forums, I am hearing some negative things already about these new AMD CPU's and now I am not so sure about it. I have read many posts that clearly state that the Phenom 2 processors are designed to have the RAM to be run at 1333Mhz! Also, some of the posts are saying I can damage the memory controller on the CPU if I run RAM faster than 1333Mhz. The guys posting this stuff are not AMD newbies but seasoned builders and testers...If I had heard this before, I probably would have steered away from the AMD CPU's and stuck with the Intel's that have never given me even one problem in the past...

Have you any thoughts on these comments?

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why isn't this more expensive? SWORDPLAY System Upgrades 14 05-01-2008 09:12 PM
Question about AMD's Jayvon New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-09-2006 06:06 PM
AMD's next chipset odysseus New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-29-2006 03:58 PM
AMD'S new chip robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 02-06-2006 11:51 PM
AMD's new socket aaronkupen Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 10-04-2005 01:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.