Why is my setup so slow? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default Why is my setup so slow?

First I will list everything that I have.

Asus Crossfire mobo
AMD AM2 4200+ Dual core
Dual EVGA 7900GT's
2Gb Corsair XM2 ram
36bg raptor for OS
Windows x64 (all updates)
Sound blaster X-fi
Roswill 600w modular PSU

By no means am I a layman to the computer world but I cannot for the life of me understand why my computer boggs down with just about everything I do. I cant scroll though my songs in WMP. Surfing is slow. my FPS in games is only marginally better than a friend running one 7800gt and a 3700 single core on windows x64. Normally I would think its a virus but I have had kaspersky for a little while and the computer was slow right away after I reformatted. BOIS has been updated and for some reason I regularily use over 1Gb of pagefile. startup seems to take forever like there are 60 processes going but only have 33 total. When it hangs I look at the cpu load and its rarely over 50% on either core.

Any ideas
__________________

Exidous is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

2*7900's on a crossfire mobo?
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

uh huh
oh and the monitor is a JVC 46'HD running at 1920x1080
Exidous is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

what graphics drivers are you using?

and to get sli working on crossfire dont you need hacked drivers?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 11:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrm, try downloading the amd dual core patch on amd's website.. and i dunno, feels like a stupid question but did you install the drivers for the video cards
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

i would say the sli o na cros fire mobo why did u buy a cross fire mobo anyway if u were going nvidia?
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, that may be it, try using just 1 graphics card and see how that goes
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

HAHA I meant the crosshair motherboard. I am using the forceware 91.47 version drivers and running both cards did make a difference on GRAW. A big one. Im sure that some of the games just dont support sli but my big problem is that things get pretty bogged down when I do more than one or two things at a time. Didnt have to problem with a 3700+ single core. asus sli deluxe and 2GB o cheap kingston ram. Is it possible than I need more than 2GB of to run a game like WOW and listen to music and surf the net :-p Because I regularily use over 1GB of pagefile and the ram is running about 75% full.
Exidous is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I think I might know that the problem is. When I installed X64 the first time I had two hard drives connected. When I reinstalled I had only one. Is it possible that the pagefile is located on my C drive and slowing things down. I now have 4 drives connected and would like to move the pagefile to another hard drive but cant for the life of me remember when to do it.
Exidous is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 07:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

I had exactly the same problem, It fixed it went i made a copy of my drive, i.e. all the documents and settings, not program files. Wiped the whole drive...and then re-installed most things. So now I've just got windows and program files booting off one and everything else of the other. It made my computer about x10 faster. I know you might think, well you've cleared up more disk space of course it's going to be faster. But I had a brand new 250gb seagate hdd and it still was slow as sh*t, so I decided that disk space was not an issue for me.

Just make a backup copy of your raptor and blow everything away, except for windows. See if that works, it did for me.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.