Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

I just got DSL hooked up, and I have to run through a USB cable because for some reason my PC is not detecting the Ethernet ports. The Mobo is an Asus P5B Deluxe.

Do I need to download drivers or anything?
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

Did you DL/install southbridge, chipset, and network chip drivers?
The LAN drivers are from this page
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

no

i have not
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

You must install drivers for newer motherboard. Older ones have the same drivers but these newer boards need drivers installed.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

yup, get ur drivers installed

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
__________________
ASUS A8n-E, 1gig Corsair XMS3200C2 Pro, AMD 64 x2 4400+, BFG Geforce 7900GTX OC, Thermaltake Tsunami, Themaltake 480w PSU, Logitech MX510, Viewsonic G90f, Creative Inspire T7900.
mc6pack is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

install the drivers......
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 11:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

Downloaded Drivers and sure enough, my ethernet works now! thanks guys
King$nake is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

your welcome and remember to come back when you need help
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
your welcome and remember to come back when you need help
^copy that
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet Controller Missing Driver kkttt87 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 01-13-2008 01:31 AM
USB not working pockets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-18-2007 11:51 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.