Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2007, 04:17 PM   #31 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

Definitely.......well, if he overclocked the CPU and GPU pretty good.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 04:20 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

Yup. Thing is, I wonder why he got the E6700 when he could have gotten the E6750. Looking at Newegg, the E6700 is about $80 more then the E6750. Why?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 04:23 PM   #33 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

The e6700 has a higher multiplier than the e6750. So you can have a low FSB for the same speed. This means that you can go for more speed starting at a lower FSB for higher overclocking.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 04:27 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

Oh wow, now I see the difference. 1066Mhz and 1333Mhz. So at 1066 with the same speed as the E6750, you'll get farther in overclocking!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 06:33 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

An E6750 with 1066FSB would be at 2.13Ghz, or an E6420
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 06:39 PM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

I do not know how to do the calculations but I'm pretty sure with 1066MHz there is a way of finding the multiplier. Once you find the multiplier you times it with the FSB .. wait, I'm confusing myself. Someone help me with my math! :laughing:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:31 PM   #37 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Why is my 3Dmark06 getting only 4400?

The E6750's multiplier is 8........1333 / 4 = 333.....333 x 8 = 2.66GHz

rx712 is right about the E6750, if it had a 1066FSB, it would be at 2.13GHz like the E6420, which also has an 8 multiplier. 1066 / 4 = 266.....266 x 8 = 2.13GHz
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3Dmark06 phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 13 08-07-2007 08:15 PM
3dMark06 Results ZaKa- Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 01:14 AM
FS/FT: AMD x2 4400, 2gb ddr400 ram, matx mobo's, 1gb (2x 512) ddr2 sodimm laptop ram ShadoWing Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-01-2007 11:53 AM
New 3dmark06 Benchmarks Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-22-2007 12:46 PM
8720 3DMark06!!!!!!! advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 06-19-2007 11:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.