why does everybody hate the fx-60??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 08:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

No, I mean the X2 3800+ on stock (2.0 GHz) plays single-threaded games (games that do not support dual cores to proccess the game, so only 1 core is playing the game) fine.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

its perfectly decent, its just 'designer' as it were, the only reason I dislike it, is because it is seriously overpriced, and if you have the time you may as well overclock an opty or something and get as much if not more power for less money?!?

Charlie -
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Does anyone have any NUMBERS? I would like to see tests comparing an overclocked Opteron to a FX-60 before I am certain. It seems like an Opteron is the way to go these days, and I agree that an FX-60 is grossly overpriced, but when considering only speed, I am not yet convinced....
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 12:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

I've been looking for benchmarks but can't find any. But seriously the two cores are almost identical, there is no special thing that the fx-60 has besides speed that makes it way better. Once you get an opteron 165 up to 2.6 ghz you are basically running an fx-60.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

the "big" improvement that the fx-60 was supposed to bring was its the first dual core fx. but with optis around theres not much of a use for it. not to say its a bad cpu, it rulz but why pay $1000 for it? when a $600 or less opti works fine.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

May not be the best processor out there anymore but it still very good people don't like it because it's expensive like any other FX branded processor.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Default

i agree with dante, i dont want to make any decisions until i see some benchmarks. theres got to be some reason besides speed and marketing for the fx-60 to be so much more expensive.
peace2acorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

No. That is the only reason. Speed=performance performance=more money.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Default

i guess but i just think theres gotta be another reason why the fx-60 has better performance
peace2acorn is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

this is all i can find
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1909488,00.asp
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.