Why do I get low FPS in WoW? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2009, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Ok

Time to ask the experts =)

I build my computer not too long ago, I know a lot a bout computers BUT even with an good system, I still manage to drop down to 12 FPS in some places in WoW.

Can someone please explain to me why I would be getting low FPS with a computer like this? The setting on my video in game are not even high... some are even low!

I got DirectX 10, I am using Vista Ult 32 bit

Thanks!

Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200
Original Processor Freqency: 2333.3 MHz
Motherboard Model: ASUS P5Q-PRO
Video Chipset: nVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT (G94-300)
Video Memory: 512 MBytes of GDDR3 SDRAM
Memory 4096 MB DDR2-SDRAM (5-5-5-15)
Power Supply Antec 500W


HARD DRIVES:

DRIVE 1:
Drive Controller: Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive Model: Seagate ST3500320AS
Drive Revision: SD15
Drive Serial Number: 6QM0L5YM
Drive Capacity: 476,940 MBytes (500 GB)


DRIVE 2:
Drive Controller: Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive Model: Seagate ST3320620AS
Drive Revision: 3.AAE
Drive Serial Number: 3QF09365
Drive Capacity: 305,245 MBytes (320 GB)


DRIVE 3: (C:\ DRIVE - PRIMARY)
Drive Controller: Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Drive Model: MAXTOR STM31000340AS
Drive Revision: MX15
Drive Serial Number: 9QJ0QJQE
Drive Capacity: 953,869 MBytes (1000 GB)


DRIVE 4:
Drive Controller: E-IDE (ATA-7)
Drive Channel: Secondary, Slave
Drive Model: Maxtor 6L300R0
Drive Revision: BAJ41G20
Drive Serial Number: L629RVEG
Drive Capacity: 286,188 MBytes (300 GB)


DRIVE 5:
Drive Controller: E-IDE (ATA-7)
Drive Channel: Tertiary, Master
Drive Model: Maxtor 6Y080L0
Drive Revision: YAR41BW0
Drive Serial Number: Y2BQK06E
Drive Capacity: 78,167 MBytes (81 GB)


TEMPS AND VOLTAGES:


[CPU Digital Thermal Sensor]
CPU#0 Core0 58.0 C
CPU#0 Core1 52.0 C
CPU#0 Core2 51.0 C
CPU#0 Core3 51.0 C
[Winbond/Nuvoton W83627UHG]
Motherboard 41.0 C
CPU 29.0 C
VcoreA 1.17 V
Vccp2 3.47 V
+3.3V 3.28 V
+5V 5.46 V
+5VSB 5.67 V
Chassis 1854 RPM
CPU1 2556 RPM
[ASUS EPU2 (ASP0800)]
CPU VID 1.18 V
CPU Power 14.97 W
CPU Current 9.11 A
[S.M.A.R.T.]
ST3500320AS 36.0 C
ST3320620AS 43.0 C
MAXTOR STM31000340AS 65.0 C
Maxtor 6L300R0 43.0 C
Maxtor 6Y080L0 39.0 C
[nVidia On-die @ GPU[#0] nVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT (G94-300)]
GPU Temperature 56.0 C
__________________

__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

First off, 32-bit can only handle a max of 3.5GB including your graphics card. You have RAM that your system cannot use. It isn't slowing you down, but 64-bit could use it and help you out.

The main problem I see is your 9600GT, superclocked or not. WoW keeps ading to the game which makes it more graphically demanding. Sure, you can turn the options down, but it is still a lot of polygons to generate. A beefier card would make a world of difference.

If you decide to upgrade, what kind of budget would you have? That way we know what to match you up with.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 02:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
First off, 32-bit can only handle a max of 3.5GB including your graphics card. You have RAM that your system cannot use. It isn't slowing you down, but 64-bit could use it and help you out.

The main problem I see is your 9600GT, superclocked or not. WoW keeps ading to the game which makes it more graphically demanding. Sure, you can turn the options down, but it is still a lot of polygons to generate. A beefier card would make a world of difference.

If you decide to upgrade, what kind of budget would you have? That way we know what to match you up with.

I'd have to say max up to 250$
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Didn't know they made a 32 bit version of vista ultimate.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Before you go looking into hardware options make sure all you drivers are up to date.

What is you screen resolution?

Has your fps recently taken a big dive? Or is this basically how it has always been with this comp?
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Before you go looking into hardware options make sure all you drivers are up to date.

What is you screen resolution?

Has your fps recently taken a big dive? Or is this basically how it has always been with this comp?
My drivers are up to date.

The screen resolution I run is 1680x1050 on a 22'

The fps has always been like that. Most of the time its at 58-60fps but when it comes to lot's of glowing objects and stuff it drops down to like mid 20-30s.

I just read about the SLI. I always thaught people get 2 vid cards because they want to run 2 screens... I never thaught of them actualy working together which blows my mind...

Not sure if it's even possible but I would like to get two GTX 295's in my comp. I am pretty sure that would be an overkill. If I had my setting on all high I am pretty sure they would be able to handle it.
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Your resolution is really high. I'm sure if you tried it out on a regular 17" LCD screen with a native resolution of 1280X1024 you'll get much better frame rates. If you want to keep your current resolution, then you'll need a different video card. As for the SLI setup you mentioned, waaay out of your budget of $250. Just go for a single card solution; for $250, you'll be able to get a pretty nice card. And as trotter already suggested, go for 64bit windows to utilize all your memory.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100269HDMI Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

thats a good card for the price.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

+1 to the 4890. i have one and it dominates every game i play @ 1680x1050
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 09-16-2009, 11:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Why do I get low FPS in WoW?

Oh man, those babies keep dropping. After MIR, they're only $175. That's a steal.

A card that has decided not to drop in price is the 285. It has been pretty much the same price since it came out. Even the 295 has dropped some. You can get some of them for $470 now. Although out of stock, an xfx 4870x2 on newegg is only $370, not much more than a 285.

I guess Nvidia is just inefficient.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i think i know why i get lower fps in Crysis/Crysis Warhead after upgrading my CPU Wildside PC Gaming 39 05-12-2009 08:26 PM
Low Frame Rate Issue (for any game) icon1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-10-2009 06:55 PM
DVD's on USB ? Oreo Computer Audio and Multimedia 13 12-26-2008 04:55 PM
Toshiba Sattelite A135-S2386 LOW FPS ?? mta630 Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-26-2008 06:00 AM
WoW FPS Preacher PC Gaming 4 12-05-2007 04:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.