Why is this bad - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2006, 12:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Do they have any that have some cables built in, but also have modular expansions?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I think they're all removable.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 12:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 367
Default

no the 24 pin/ 4 pin connector is built in. everything else is modual.
__________________
Setup no longer here.... need new one....
xenium is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I have a modular PSU, and I love it, never had a problem with it and it delivers stable power to my rig.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 11:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
3. DON'T LOSE POWER WITH MODULAR PLUGS
Due to their look, convenience, and cost savings for manufacturers, modular plugs have become a popular power supply feature. Unfortunately, there has been little or no discussion of the impact of this feature on overall performance and reliability. The fact is, modular plugs limit power by adding to electrical resistance. The voltage drop can be as much as would occur in 2 feet of standard wire. Worse yet, modular plugs utilize delicate pins that can easily loosen, corrode, and burn, creating the potential for a major system failure. That's why pros specify uninterrupted wire!
turtile is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 11:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xenium
no the 24 pin/ 4 pin connector is built in. everything else is modual.
I use Antec Smartpower PSU's exclusively for all my builds. All connectors are modualr and those power supplies run every system flawlessly and I have never had one fail to date!!! I have no idea where the "bad" press is coming form but for Antec..................nothing but praise!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 05:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I don't see how this could be done without major bottlenecking. Of course I haven't seen the architecture of it yet.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

Very happy with my Enermax 620 Liberty
bryan64 is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 04:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to anormaltech
Default

Nothing Like Modular PSU's man..
anormaltech is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 08:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

just realize my old post was in the wrong thread, heh...
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.