Who Has The Highest OC AMD X2 4800+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2005, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Who Has The Highest OC AMD X2 4800+

Those who are running an overclocked X2 4800+, what is the highest it can be overclocked and still run under stable conditions??

WWS is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

I'd rather recommend a 4400+ still top of the line and alot cheaper and comparible performance to the 4800+

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker

Depends on the cooling. Probably 2.8GHz on good air.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

It depends on the stepping you get. You might get one that hits 3Ghz+ with no change in voltage or you might get one that only hits 2.6GHz with 1.6v. It's basicly a gamble.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 03:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35

Tyler1989 said:
"I'd rather recommend a 4400+ still top of the line and alot cheaper and comparible performance to the 4800+"

He asked who has the highest oc'd x2 4800? Not what you would recommend (your opinion)

midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

mine runs at 3.0Ghz fine, like 003 said, it really depends on the core that you get, some overclock really well while others are POS
Spartan is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270

I got a toledo core is this a good core to overclock?
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

what stepping he means.

noone can tell u how far u can overclock. i mean of course ur not gonna hit 6ghz on it :P but u could get anywhere between a 200mhz and 1ghz overclock. so just up fsb a tiny bit at a time. then test stability, then if its stable up the fsb again if its not stable up the vcore and just continue to do that till ur temps get too high

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.