Whick SHould I upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default Whick SHould I upgrade

my brother gave me his computer w/o hard drive

p4 2.6
some dying ecs motherboard
1 gb ddr 2100 or 2700
old nvidia card
dvd rom
cd burner
480w antec psu

when i got the computer i tried putting my old 40 gig hd from my compaq, it would find it but whenever it loaded windows it said there isnt a hard drive... so i was thinkin bout doing some upgrading. I will get a spending limit of 1000 dollars.

Should i get

new mobo
new Ram
7800gs
new hd

or scrap the whole thing exept the case and just start over

fyi i dont want to spend all the 1,000 dollars if i can
__________________

TREMBER is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Scrap the whole thing and start over.

DFI mobo, 1GB PC3200 (upgrade to 2GB later), 7900GT or GTX, Athlon X2 processor
__________________

BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

Well first off if the case is a standard, you can not worry bout the new case. I would say get a nice HDD first then work my way up. ****, 1000 bucks is alot. So I would upgrade all of it. BTW, you might want to upgrade the PSU to 500-600W. P.S. Boit3ch, your avatar will haunt me forever.
fuz_master is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

i dont know if i can fit that in my budget and i wanted to also get a flat panel monitor
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I would say start anew one. You could use your cd/dvd drives and your case if they are decent. I think it will be hard too buy a flatscreen with that money and still have a very good computer. What do you plan on doing with that comp? Gaming or just regular apps?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

gaming and my old compaq isnt cuttin it amd tbird 1.0ghz

i have a compaq crt but it is takin alot of room on my desk i dont have

i dont think i will be able to afford a dual core and still have enough for a top of the line gpu. i was thinkin 7900 gt

i just wanted to know can you install windows with the upgrade edition

im thinkin amd 3700
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

You can install windows with the upgrade, you just need a previous windows cd too verify the upgrade. In fact, thats what i did and it works fine.

Are you going to be overclocking?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Sexyville
Posts: 294
Default

Start from scratch, I'm sure you can build a very nice computer, with flat panel monitor, for $1,000 you just need to look around for the best deals.
Metal Chaos is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 70
Default

dfi mobo about 130$
250gig hd 85$
xfx 7900gt 300$
antec tru power 550w sli 90$
corsair xms 1gb 103$
amd 3700 348$

=921$

this is allitle much because i want to get sound card, speaker, maby a couple of games, screen

what are some things you would downgrade i need yall guys opinons

im in to overcloking but have never done any becuas ive been on emachines and compaqs and so forth.

this is my first build but im always doing research and have my bro which knows the ins and outs.

I NEED TO PLAY SOME GAMES
__________________
\"we like to break all of the rules....exept most of them\"
TREMBER is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Sexyville
Posts: 294
Default

It all looks ok, you don't really need a sound card unless you are a music junkie or plan to have high definition surround sound speakers, at least that's what I understand, and here's a hard drive that's $79 after a 50 dollar rebate http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...sku=THD-250A2, I know it's not much cheaper, do you live in america? because you can check out www.tigerdirect.com and they always have good deals on computer parts. It's where I got my set up from.


Edit: You might can downgrade the PSU to about a 500W, I'm not sure though.
__________________

Metal Chaos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.