Where should I start? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2014, 09:38 PM   #61 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Where should I start?

On that machine, yes.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 09:39 PM   #62 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
On that machine, yes.

Ok
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 01:39 PM   #64 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Where should I start?

You really should worry more about your internet connection. That's your throttle. You'll only be able to have like three people on the server max with that.

EDIT: I see you're upgrading it... If it's anything like mine it will be 30 down / 3-4 up. A max of maybe 10 people. MC is huge on the upstream bandwidth needs
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 01:41 PM   #65 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
You really should worry more about your internet connection. That's your throttle. You'll only be able to have like three people on the server max with that.
I am using ethernet right now on my 4mbps wireless connection and am getting 12 down, 1 up.

Are the parts ok?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 01:47 PM   #66 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Where should I start?

The parts are fine, just know that you won't be getting Windows 7 on that SSD.

The 120GB EVO is only 30 bucks more.
SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 01:49 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The parts are fine, just know that you won't be getting Windows 7 on that SSD.

The 120GB EVO is only 30 bucks more.
SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - Newegg.com

So i can put windows 8 on the EVO?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 01:55 PM   #68 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfdude77 View Post
I am using ethernet right now on my 4mbps wireless connection and am getting 12 down, 1 up.
Still not going to be enough. My 6mbps up can't handle 30 players.
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 02:35 PM   #69 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfdude77 View Post
So i can put windows 8 on the EVO?
Yes. 30GB just is too small and the minimum should be a 64GB. Comparing the two prices it just makes more sense, although having an SSD in a dedicated server is kinda a waste,.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 03:06 PM   #70 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

And if i want to add wifi compatability?


Sent from my iPod touch using Tech-Forums
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Start Menu 7 an Alternative to the Windows 7 Start Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 2 03-13-2010 12:03 PM
Windows 7 Start Button Changer: Customize Windows 7 Start Button Easily and Quickly Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-13-2010 01:05 PM
Start Multiple Applications from the Start Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-09-2007 08:10 AM
computer freeze on first start and secont start its fine cobra2099 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-03-2007 06:35 AM
Create program aliases - Start programs from Start>Run dialog sureshmalankar Microsoft Windows and Software 0 02-10-2007 01:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.