Where should I start? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2014, 05:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
iFargle is pretty active since he's an active mod.
That's good.
__________________

dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwarfdude77 View Post
My family and I are possibly going to upgrade our internet connection soon, right now we get 4mbps. I would like to be able to host at least 30 players at a time right now. Any suggestions?

P.S.: I will be running a bukkit server
I'm assuming that's 4 down... what about upload speed?

You'll probably want a quad, or at least a decent dual core since it's a lot of processing to generate all the chunks. That and a decent amount of RAM.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'm assuming that's 4 down... what about upload speed?

You'll probably want a quad, or at least a decent dual core since it's a lot of processing to generate all the chunks. That and a decent amount of RAM.
4mbps down, 1mbps up.

What is your description of "a decent amount of RAM"?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Where should I start?

I've never hosted a MC server that big, so I couldn't really say . Probably at least 8GB. CPU is going to be important as well because of all the chunk generating/destruction/etc. going on...especially if you're running mods.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 05:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I've never hosted a MC server that big, so I couldn't really say . Probably at least 8GB. CPU is going to be important as well because of all the chunk generating/destruction/etc. going on...especially if you're running mods.
Yep. What about the power supply? How do I calculate a wattage?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Where should I start?

A Corsair CX430 would be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 06:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
A Corsair CX430 would be fine.
What if I want to reuse from an old desktop?
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Where should I start?

4 mbps down / 1 up will not cut it for anything over like.. three players sadly My 60 down / 6 up feels the squeeze with ~15

That would be your biggest thing holding you back.

At least a quad core with 8GB RAM. My server regularly hits ~7.5GB used (with a dozen or so plugins mind you), though it wouldn't matter much with only a 1mbps upload.
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Where should I start?

What would be ideal download and upload speeds?
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Where should I start?

As high as humanly possible
My download is fine. 60 is more than ample.. It's that 6 up that kills me.
__________________

iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Start Menu 7 an Alternative to the Windows 7 Start Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 2 03-13-2010 12:03 PM
Windows 7 Start Button Changer: Customize Windows 7 Start Button Easily and Quickly Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 02-13-2010 01:05 PM
Start Multiple Applications from the Start Menu Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-09-2007 08:10 AM
computer freeze on first start and secont start its fine cobra2099 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-03-2007 06:35 AM
Create program aliases - Start programs from Start>Run dialog sureshmalankar Microsoft Windows and Software 0 02-10-2007 01:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.