Where to put my Paging file? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2007, 11:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Where to put my Paging file?

I know the difference is very minute, but im at a standstill on where to put the paging file...i know its best to put it on a separate drive from the OS, so i put it on my 500gb storage seagate...but then i read that if you have a striped array, which i do with my 160gb's WD's, then it might be better to leave it on the C drive

striped array or storage drive?

on a side note, these new 3dmark06 comparison graphs are the bomb
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

The last option is simply disabling the creation of a paging file like many gamers do. Here I simply custom assign it to 2-2.5 times the amount of memory installed and never worry. I run 4 hard drives here and never can decide depending on which version of Windows is running.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

if you have 2gb of ram and your running xp, i would just disable it completely
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

you think so? i thought it NEEDED the paging file for many of the OS programs
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

Windows will run with it or without it for the most part. What the paging file does is allow Windows to use drive space for virtual memory when it runs out of physical memory to keep things going. For gaming that process becomes a drag on performance. For a work horse system running video capturing/editing, CAD, graphics/animation design. or anything else that gobbles memory up you would then find it needed there.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

i know what it does... but the majority of people thinks that is is REQUIRED for many of the os processes to run, which is why i don't wanan disable it, i dont want an unstable system
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

I've run the system both ways here even while running video capturing and dvd burning which both place a good load on things. It's mainly the problem of reserving 2gb of drive space for VM that sees a problem not the actuall need to see a paging file created. Windows will start sounding alarms when the drive space is low.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

Try without it, if you have problems change it back.
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

paging files are not required
idk anyone who thinks this either lol
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 12:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Where to put my Paging file?

Paging files are simply an asset when running memory hungry programs. Due to the Windows design the alarm bells sound when getting low on drive space since MS figured that would be reserved for just that. That also informs you that you do have little space left.
(that can help big time if you are capturing video to the drive since video files chew up drive space fast!)
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 08-23-2007 08:55 AM
Causes a CPU spike at random prelude beast HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 08-01-2007 05:51 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM
my log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 06-07-2007 11:56 PM
Objecterror HJT Log objecterror Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-18-2007 12:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.