where does this go? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 02:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NewCents05
my case has these 2 wires that went along with like hddled, reset, pwr sw and theyre called -p led and +p led where do i plug these into?
Read your motherboard manual. Those are connectors for the power switch, reset and hard drive light.

They go onto the little pins normally at the bottom of the mobo sometimes colour coded. Check the manual to see how they go.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 02:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

well i plugged in the hdd led , reset sw and pwr sw but i dont see what these -p led and +p led go into and do i really need these anyway?
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 02:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default




The General is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NewCents05
well i plugged in the hdd led , reset sw and pwr sw but i dont see what these -p led and +p led go into and do i really need these anyway?
i can't think of what those could be for if power reset and hdd are in.... you shouldn't need them in, the only one you really need in is power and reset.. the others aren't necessary, but recommended...

as for the 2 you have left over, i wouldnt worry about those
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

well its not powerin on and i cant figure out why
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

As in, the PC doesn't even do anything as though you never touched the on button?

Does the PSU turn on if you hotwire it? (Touch and hold the green pin from the 20(24)ping PSU cable with any black one with a paper clip (needs holding together.)

If that works then the cable may be the wrong way round (can't think why it matters but meh)

If not than the mobo is screwed.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
yes.

all it's there fore is to provide extra power to the motherboard, since the ATX connector does not always provide enough. though it's usually only an issue if you run SLI
That's exactly what it is. If you're not using SLI, they you don't need to use the extra molex on the mobo. ASUS has that on their SLI boards, it's called "EZPLUG".

I don't even use it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

**** ok well i got to power on it just wouldnt work with an extension cable but my water pump is not working. it lights up and but its not pushing any liquid to the cpu so i turn it on and shut it right off after like 30 seconds since its nots really being a heat sink to the cpu. wtf
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

you need to lift the pump up and tilt it until the airbubble is pushed through.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

seriously ok ill try that
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.