Where can I find.. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2006, 09:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jumping_Bean514
Sorry to burst your bubble but all the 8800 series cards are made by the same company. Companys like evga, leadtek and bfg just put their name on them. So in terms of the card itself it doesnt matter where you get it from. Though evga has a the step up program so you might want to get it from them.
if they are all made buy the same place then why can some overclock better?
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Becuase each manufacture uses varying quality silicon/componets..

Also companies often have different drivers/software..
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

so then he was wrong the brand does matter if what your saying is true
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Yeah it does to me atleast, I have never had a problem with leadtek, other friends i know have had horrible times pny/xfx.. a few of those other cheaper brands.

Atleast thats what I believe..

but I dont know anything..
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PanzerKammander
Becuase each manufacture uses varying quality silicon/componets..

Also companies often have different drivers/software..
Silicon is the same as the same company makes all the cards.

The Drivers and Software (NV Control Panel) are both provided by Nvidia.

The only difference is the cooler on the card; that's where the difference lies. Better coolers let you overclock farther.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

I really dont think so..

becuase I have had a few other cards from different companies and their stablity has been absolute crap..

I put a different brand in, and it worked better..
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 09:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I dont think they are overclocking the 8800's from the factory are they?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 10:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I doubt they're overclocking the 8800's. I don't see the reason too since it runs everything out right now at max. However, think about it, Would there be 23918230918230 and 3 different versions of every card if they were all the exact same thing. There would just be no reason for it. I'm sure when it comes down to it, They are all of the same structure, but certain companies offer pre-over clocked models and you're paying extra for the time they put into doing that, not really any difference in the card itself. Look up a 7600 for example, there's a ton of different versions of it, but they're all made by the one company, it's just what companies offer a better warranty and overclocking, or overclocking capability and that's about it. There's also the factor of unlockable pixel pipelines and all that stuff.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 11:54 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PanzerKammander
*snipped*
Stop talking about other cards. The point is; the 8800GTX is made by only one manufacturer, who then ships it to everyone else. It is different for other cards, so stop comparing it to a 7600GT or whatever. You will get the same performance and reliability from any 8800GTX out there, unless they are factory overclocked.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:35 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Which is in essence basically what I just said sir.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.