When will it be safe to purchase Vista? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 03:49 PM   #41 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King$nake
Can someone explain what the biggest differences are between 32 and 64? Would I be better off with 64 bit with my system? (sig)
thats a nice question, the most easy way for me to explain is using broom sticks.

Okay lets say you and your friend are mopping the floors of your rooms. You and your friend mop and the same speed but you got a 64inch broom while your friend has a 32inch broom. You mop faster? not really but you mop more with less effort get it?
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 03:52 PM   #42 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by plumber4578
wait 1 minute!!!!!! is vista going to be like windows 2000?????? I piece of poo just to hold us over for the next windows that's more solid? Now I'm scared; I just had a relapse to the time between 98 and XP
and wow you really think windows 2000 is that bad? i've been using Win2k Professional for 7 years and i found it way more stable than XP. I'm just upgrading Vista soon cuz its dual-core optimized. But really the safest time to buy vista is when the make SP1 so they got most of the bugs out.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:34 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GageMW
32bit means the processor does 32 instructions at once, 64bit is simply 64 instructions at once.
no, 32-bit means the instructions are 32 1's and 0's long. 64-bit means the instructions are 64 1's and 0's long.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:44 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Anyone think its safe for me to buy it yet?
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:03 PM   #45 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

no its still buggy and games still run like **** on it
wait for the service pack
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:34 PM   #46 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GageMW View Post
^ agreed.
now is a good time. Microsoft basically stops caring about the previous OS as soon as they release a new one, and put all their efforts towards fixes and features into the new OS
I disagree with the "caring about their new OS" part, Vistas been out for more then 7 months and I haven't even seen much an improvement, still horrible driver support.
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:28 AM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante_Caligari View Post
I wonder just how long it will take software manufacturers to make the switch to 64bit. I mean, 64bit has been around for a long, long time; forever in servers, and for quite a while now desktops have supported it. What really irks me is when I buy a 64bit compatable processor (which probably upped the cost) and the processor is outdated before x64 software is widely supported. That happened with my last processor, and I am confident that I will see the reign of the E6xxx line of Intel processors die before I ever run a 64 bit OS.

Same with Dual-Core. Everyone is using dual core now. Who really uses single cores in their machines? ...but why? The whole concept of Dual Core processors is multithreaded applications, (multitasking is a big deal as well, but the real area, as I see it, comes in multi-threading.), and yet, how many applications are being written with two threads? Very few.

...then we have Micro$oft churning out another worthless copy of other operating systems, still plagued with the same previous flaws as XP, yet it is a resource hog. So now we have to up the game, and buy better computers to run Vista, when all we're using our computing power for is simply the dam* OS!

If Vienna is not a complete re-write, scratch, brand new OS, I am done with Micro$oft forever, and if software programmers don't start multithreading their apps and taking advantage of the powerful hardware we have, I will never buy a quad core.

I could also rant on Videocards, but I have done enough for now.
You know whats the worst part??! Most of the things you said if not all is true. Btw i really enjoy all this that you typed, next reply plz rant on Videocards this things not much people said it loud like you ia a good thing that some people have their eyes open even in times like this.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 07:35 AM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
and wow you really think windows 2000 is that bad? i've been using Win2k Professional for 7 years and i found it way more stable than XP. I'm just upgrading Vista soon cuz its dual-core optimized. But really the safest time to buy vista is when the make SP1 so they got most of the bugs out.
Im am still using 2000 on my work computer for the same reason. It is by far the best OS Miscrosoft has put out in years IMHO. I have fought with IT departments many times who have tried to replace that OS on my computer.
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 12:39 PM   #49 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

seriously.... b4 my friend gave me "his copy" of WinXP i had 2k and had been running for a while, i loved it... i think ur talking about "Windows ME is I piece of poo just to hold us over for the next windows that's more solid"
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 02:57 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Well, I almost wish I didnt go through the effort of installing a pirated copy of Vista Ultimate x64 on my other harddrive.

I have a legit Vista Business x64 which i will probably install over it - but I always boot into XP.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.