When will it be safe to purchase Vista? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2007, 08:39 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

wait 1 minute!!!!!! is vista going to be like windows 2000?????? I piece of poo just to hold us over for the next windows that's more solid? Now I'm scared; I just had a relapse to the time between 98 and XP
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:44 PM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

Vienna set to release 2009
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:48 PM   #33 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheEnd187
k cheking right now for you, you should also change your psu, stock ones that come with the case always die, and you dont live far frome where i used to live, do you live near magnolia?
magnolia ave? hmm no not far. I go to RCC Riverside Campus every week.

i live near Alessandro BLVD if u go that way n go to Trautwein rd., then go to the intersection of Orange Terrace n then look for Buckboard Ln. then BOOM i live on that street, to the right side, 4th house from the end of the street . Y u ask?

about my PSU, im planning on upgrading to a 900w or 1000w when i have the money to buy a new PSU n a pre-OCed R600. I made a thread about what the 6-pin n 8-pin connectors r used for but no one can answer that n just said, "dont get that PSU, it's too expensive, u dont need 1000w......n blah blah blah." I thought the # of 6-pins is equal to how many GPU cards u have that support PCI-E v1.1, n # of 8-pin connectors is equal to how many GPU cards u have that support PCI-E v2.0 *on future mobos*.

planning on getting an AM3 mobo, Crossfire, 2 x 2GB DDR3 SDRAM, 250GB HDD *soon*, AMD quad-core Budapest, dual-monitors ill get later: one in the summer, another of the same in winter, a APEVIA X-PLEASURE-BK Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case *planning on getting this soon as well*. All for buying at the end of this year or Q1-Q2 2008 at the same time; cost: around $4000, n looking for job still.

*sry if i got carried away with typing, i always do that, plus im planning ahead on what to buy*
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:51 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

ok.... that's over my head. Good day!
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 47
Default

The 'word on the street" is that vienna or fiji might be modular. That is you pay for additions to the os for additional fuctionalities. But this is just speculation based on ms' patents. As far as vista goes, it won't hurt to wait a while. hardware will be better and cheaper. Vista, drivers and software will probably be better too.
t3ch_threads is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:13 PM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

In Microsoft world, 2009 means 2011.
andrus is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:26 PM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

seems like an ok setup to me lol but there is better but that thing kiks ***
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:38 PM   #38 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheEnd187
seems like an ok setup to me lol but there is better but that thing kiks ***
ya i know what im doing, n im still asking questions now tell i have the money to purchase anything . I'll get Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit too at the same time i purchase all the stuff i mentioned last post.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:12 AM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

if u can't decide between 64 and 32 bit get ultimate cuz it has both versions in the package, then u dual boot it and see which u like best
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 01:22 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

I wonder just how long it will take software manufacturers to make the switch to 64bit. I mean, 64bit has been around for a long, long time; forever in servers, and for quite a while now desktops have supported it. What really irks me is when I buy a 64bit compatable processor (which probably upped the cost) and the processor is outdated before x64 software is widely supported. That happened with my last processor, and I am confident that I will see the reign of the E6xxx line of Intel processors die before I ever run a 64 bit OS.

Same with Dual-Core. Everyone is using dual core now. Who really uses single cores in their machines? ...but why? The whole concept of Dual Core processors is multithreaded applications, (multitasking is a big deal as well, but the real area, as I see it, comes in multi-threading.), and yet, how many applications are being written with two threads? Very few.

...then we have Micro$oft churning out another worthless copy of other operating systems, still plagued with the same previous flaws as XP, yet it is a resource hog. So now we have to up the game, and buy better computers to run Vista, when all we're using our computing power for is simply the dam* OS!

If Vienna is not a complete re-write, scratch, brand new OS, I am done with Micro$oft forever, and if software programmers don't start multithreading their apps and taking advantage of the powerful hardware we have, I will never buy a quad core.

I could also rant on Videocards, but I have done enough for now.
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.