When will it be safe to purchase Vista? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2007, 03:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

dumb question. If I buy the 32 bit and want to switch to 64 down the road - can up "upgrade" with out a whole new install?
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

nope
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:31 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Since driver support is released at the same time for both verison's, If you have a 64 bit cpu, I'd say go for it an not waste time on a 32 bit.

Only my opinion though.
augest is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:36 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

I think that's what I'm going to do. The first service pack will be out in a month or two anyway. That will solve 75% of the headaches I'm sure.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 04:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

I run 64 bit, An there is problem's yes... But I manage ok... It will get better.
augest is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 07:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by augest
I run 64 bit, An there is problem's yes... But I manage ok... It will get better.
reading form ur pic, u love spam n love playing PC games . Can u clear me these questions since u got the 64-bit?

would u recommend 64-bit version of Windows Vista Ulitmate for gamers? Would i notice a significant difference in gaming from a 32-bit or no? If not, then ill just get the 32-bit.

u see, i use my computer mostly for gaming *work for later in life* n im planning on getting Windows Vista Ultimate at the end of this year or so. I was kind a planning on getting 2 x 2GB DDR3 SDRAM when it becomes available, but it seems that 32-bit only supports up to 4GB, n i want to support more later *like later over time*. Plus, i am planning on getting a 250GB HDD, since i got only 20GB capacity left in my 80GB HDD.

if u can help, that will makes things better for me.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:17 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

actually i think 32-bit os's support 8gb of memory, but 64-bit os's in theory support 16billiongb's. and is it time for vista for me i have tried it and the answer is no, drivers suck and lots of software doesnt run well or even run yet. my prediction vista will never be safe, just like xp which is delivering new patches every week. i may get vista again but by that time Vienna would already be out
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:22 PM   #28 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheEnd187
actually i think 32-bit os's support 8gb of memory, but 64-bit os's in theory support 16billiongb's. and is it time for vista for me i have tried it and the answer is no, drivers suck and lots of software doesnt run well or even run yet. my prediction vista will never be safe, just like xp which is delivering new patches every week. i may get vista again but by that time Vienna would already be out
ur positive about 32-bit Vista supporting up to 8GB of memory!!?? I NEED TO KNOW!!! * right eye twitching constantly, vein popping out of forehead *

lol j/k on me being angry.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:28 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

k cheking right now for you, you should also change your psu, stock ones that come with the case always die, and you dont live far frome where i used to live, do you live near magnolia?
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:37 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

here you go

Windows Vista is a resource hog. At least as far as the memory usage goes, Vista seems to never get enough. Is this the case? How much RAM can you feed into Windows Vista? Is there a limit to the amount of RAM you add to a system, or will the operating system simply swallow resources?

Well, Vista can indeed get enough. There is in fact a maximum amount of physical memory in concordance with the editions of Windows Vista. In this context, Windows Vista Starter edition is the least demanding of the operating system's versions, and the 32-bit variant delivers support for a maximum of 1 GB RAM.

The 32-bit editions of Windows Vista Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Enterprise and Ultimate, all support a maximum of 4 GB of RAM. The real variations come when we start looking at the 64-vit versions. On a system running x64 Vista Home Basic, you can add as much as 8 GB of RAM. x64 Vista Home Premium supports as far as 16 GB of RAM.

But it will take no less than 128 GB of RAM in order to satiate x64 Vista Business, Enterprise and Ultimate. 128 GB of Ram is the maximum supported physical limit in the case of these three operating systems.

However, with Windows Vista, there is a clear distinction between the maximum supported physical memory and the virtual addresses that the operating system will use. The x86 editions of Vista will not deliver full support for all the RAM installed in the case that this amounts to 4GB. And there are also some limitations involving x64 platforms, but that subject will be addressed in a different article. Keep your eyeballs on Softpedia and be sure not to miss it!
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.