When will it be safe to purchase Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 03:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

I really want the latest and greatest, but obviously Vista has some bugs. My PC is fast enough to run it, but I want an OS to be atleast as stable as XP SP2 before I install it. When will it be safe to buy Vista?? I really want the aero stuff!

Also, will Flight Simulator X run any smoother on my PC with Vista? (I thought I heard that somewhere)...

-Joe
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

It won't be as stable as XP SP2 for a couple of years. But there should be enough drivers for it within a few months.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

I'm buying it right away eventhough everyone is saying not to

WOLVERINES!!!
Jrod is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

get the ultimate 64 bit
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

^ agreed.
now is a good time. Microsoft basically stops caring about the previous OS as soon as they release a new one, and put all their efforts towards fixes and features into the new OS
GageMW is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

I love my 64 bit, I was worried bout it, But yeah I'm glad I went with it other then 32 bit.
Even OEM it come's in a nice little case with a booklet. I'm happy with it for 200$.
augest is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Can someone explain what the biggest differences are between 32 and 64? Would I be better off with 64 bit with my system? (sig)
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Stop asking whether Flight Simulator X would like this or like that. It's just a game like any other and it runs on an ordinary graphics engine. Vista will give you some stability but by far not all. Most games simply work with Vista, but don't do it if you hope to make your games faster...
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King$nake
Can someone explain what the biggest differences are between 32 and 64? Would I be better off with 64 bit with my system? (sig)
i was gonna ask this in a new thread i was thinking about making. Same question from me too.

but other then what r the differences, what would be the Pros n Cons of getting a 64-bit Vista?

as far as ive heard from Professional x64, it had hard times doing things that 32-bit can do, even thought x64 is better.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

Ya i think now Vista is just as good as any OS.... granted some bugs they gotta fix.... u cant even buy a compy at walmart wit XP on it anymore... I will be gettin very soon...
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.