When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2013, 02:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Hi again.

Ok, this is on my new security build.

Strange, I have never seen this before. Hopefully it is very simple and I missed it.

Everything working perfect. Today, I received my new WD Red 3 TB. Very excited to install it.

I unplugged my Seagate 2 TB, plugged in the WD Red 3 TB, and my screen says, "Insert boot media or change boot order."

What the heck happened?

Even after I unplug the WD 3TB, same message. The ONLY way I can get the system to boot into Windows 7 is to put the darn Seagate 2 TB back into the computer!

I have checked the boot priority in the BIOS, and it is set to the Intel SSD. My Windows 7 is on the Intel SSD, NOT the Seagate! But it appears as if the computer is thinking the Windows 7 Pro is on the Seagate, not the Intel.

What the heck is going on? What might I have missed?

Please help! Tomorrow I need this computer up and running to set up wireless internet at our new location.

Thanks,

Soar

PS Here are my present components:

Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced - Mini-ITX Computer Case
Intel i7-3770k
ASRock DDR3 1333 Intel - LGA 1155 Motherboards (B75M-ITX)
Corsair Vengeance RAM 1600 8GB
2-Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm x 25mm Fan - 1850 RPM case fans
2-Coolermaster fans 120mm and 70mm.
Modified ARCTIC COOLING A7P-75000023 92mm CPU Cooler [will shave/mill 5/8" off the top]
Corsair CMX 400
Intel 160GB SSD
Seagate 2TB HDD
Attached Images
File Type: jpg My drives.JPG (69.3 KB, 1 views)
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

When you installed windows, you had the 2tb drive connected along with the SSD drive. Windows probably installed your BCD (Boot Config Data) file on the 2 tb drive, Now that you have removed the drive, your boot loader is gone too.
You can clone your 2 tb drive over to your 3 tb drive and everything will be just as before.


You might be better off to install your boot file on your SSD
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe...re-windows.htm



.
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
When you installed windows, you had the 2tb drive connected along with the SSD drive. Windows probably installed your BCD (Boot Config Data) file on the 2 tb drive, Now that you have removed the drive, your boot loader is gone too.
Windows 7 loads all of the boot configuration data onto the drive with most available space. Like what JoeC said, you'll have to clone the drive or re-install windows.
Always, when you install Windows, only have the OS drive plugged in, and leave all of the other "data" drives unplugged until the installation is complete. That way you know all of the boot information and what-not will all be on 1 drive.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

That is why I tell everybody to leave all but your OS drive plugged in when installing.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Thanks guys! I usually only have one SSD or HDD installed when installing Windows. I suppose I was too much in a hurry.

Tomorrow, I will remove the G2020 and replace it with the i7-3770k. So I think it may be best to simply reinstall Windows, but this time with ONLY the SSD installed.

Thanks again for the help!

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Thanks guys! I usually only have one SSD or HDD installed when installing Windows. I suppose I was too much in a hurry.

Tomorrow, I will remove the G2020 and replace it with the i7-4770k. So I think it may be best to simply reinstall Windows, but this time with ONLY the SSD installed.

Thanks again for the help!

Soar
With a new board, right?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
With a new board, right?
Oh boy! Well, I was not planning on a new motherboard...

Am I missing some thing here?

Can the ASRock B75M-ITX handle the Intel i7-3770k be able to utilize all its power and glory? Or are you recommending I find a better MB?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

You put 4770k instead of 3770k.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 01:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You put 4770k instead of 3770k.
Whoops! My bad! I suppose there was some wishful thinking involved too!

I edited the post to show 3770k. Sorry PPM!

BTW, when I looked at the 4770k it didn't look like much of a performance jump at all.

Also, the MB's were quite expensive.

And finally, most of the low power boasting appear to be at or near idle only!

What are your thoughts on the matter? Did I make the right choice?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 01:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: When trying to plug in WD 3TD, Windows 7 will not boot

Haswell is simply a 10% overall increase over IB like IB was to SB. Most of the power savings will be found in the mobile market. You can still get cheap B85 boards for them, but a K CPU is wasted on anything but a Z board really. We won't see any real performance increases until Haswell-E comes out and the mainstream market will follow with DDR4 in 2015. Still though, every incremental increase is more of a step ahead of AMD. All that matters to them.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.