When setting up raid 1 do can you use sata drives? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2006, 07:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Well, security from harddrive failure anyway. Windows could still corrupt your filesystem, you could still get a virus that wipes the drives clean, etc.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 07:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Read, Grasshopper!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redunda...ependent_disks
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 07:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
dude raid 1 is where you back up everything automatically.

so if one drive fails, the second one has all the info on it, so you can just use your second hard drive.

its the safest you are going to get when it comes to security
do you have a raid 1 setup?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 09:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

http://www.bestpricecomputers.co.uk/.../home-pc-raid/
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 09:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

the only risk it says about raid is that if an error happens then it also happens on the other disk, but still its better then having to put EVERYTHING on a disk just put the very important **** on disk and keep the other **** backed up on the raid
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 09:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Do you have a raid setup?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 07:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i have had a couple raid setups before right now i have raid 0.
i used to keep up my server whitch had raid 1, then raid 5
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

I have decided now to raid. I am going for it as a new adventure. I do want to ask this question though. I went through the step of starting the raid in bios and then went through the setup where it finally said healthy raid. I am doing a mirror raid. Anyway I have done the stuff needed like os cd and pushing f6 to install raid drivers like needed. It is now installing the os. My question is do I need to initialize the discs after this is all done. This is a brand new machine with a brand new install.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 12:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

If I ever decide to take off the raid array can it be done? Can I just shut off raid and use one of the hard drives as another hard drive? Also, if I decide to keep the raid can I partition it after the fact because I have done a raid without a partition?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 08:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

If I raid 1 and want a partition, will the 2nd partition without the os still be mirrored? Will all of the hard drive be mirrored?
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.