When setting up raid 1 do can you use sata drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2006, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default When setting up raid 1 do can you use sata drives?

When setting up raid 1 do can you use sata drives?
__________________

__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Of course you can. Just make sure they're the same brand, size, cache, and rpms...or just get two of the same hard drive.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Some will also Raid ide together with sata. Ideally drives are identical, but will work with different sizes also. Just defaults to the lowest-capacity drive though, and you'll not see the "excess" space on the larger drive. They can be different brands, even different caches.
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
Default

not to hijack this thread but my new mobo only has one ide socket, and four sata sockets...is there a good internal adapter to change my hard drives or opticals into sata...cause id rather not buy new hard drives.
arbol99 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Plenty of serillel adapters available, around $15 each...do not work for many opticals though. Mostly HD's...
krazefinn is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

Is the raid 1 actually good for home use. It will have farm data that is important. Would it be just as good to have two hard drives and do regular backups to it and once in awhile to backup to dvd.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

thats basically what your doing with the raid 1, except it backs the data up for ya. You could back the stuff up on dvds yourself if you wanted to and it would be the same thing, except if your HD does fail you'll lose the data that you didn't back up to dvds up until then.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

But as many are pointing out to me if info on my one disc fails it also fails on my other disk. I am not talking about the disk failing but the info that is being written.
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 03:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

After doing a lot more reading on the subject I have come to the conclusion that raid 1 is not all that safe and there are still issues that can cause you to lose your info. The safest to me is to have two hard drives and a seperate backup partition and also back up to dvd. What is the best backup software out there?
__________________
ASUS VS248H-P Black 24" Monitor, GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68,
CORSAIR Vengeance 16GBCMZ16GX3M4A1600C9, MSI N460GTX Hawk GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz OC to 4.0GHz, NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Koutech IO-RCM621 Front Panel Multi-format Card Reader, Asus BW-12B1ST Internal Blu-ray Writer
Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III SSD, HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642 2TB
HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000 HDS723020BLA642, Western Digital 2 TB HDD
OCZ OCZ750FTY 750W Fatal1ty Series Power Supply 750 Watts,
CORSAIR H40 120mm High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler, Antec P183 V3, Windows 7 Pro Retail
Windows 7 7.8 rating.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

dude raid 1 is where you back up everything automatically.

so if one drive fails, the second one has all the info on it, so you can just use your second hard drive.

its the safest you are going to get when it comes to security
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.