When is Best Time/Brand?! HIGH END COMPUTER - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 01:01 AM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Dual-Core processors for Desktops have been out for a long time. Those "Dual Core that are basically Pentium 4" aren't a single pentium 4. Pentium-Ds are 2 Pentium 4s.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

i think that's why he doesn't like them, b/c they are still based on a P4. if you have never built a computer, i'd highly recommend watching a friend. it's really friggin simple once you get it down. but if all you've done is replace video cards and ram...i guess it all depends on how deailed you are. motherboards come with some pretty good installation guides nowadays. especially needed when you get cases that have with all the extras...i think the only thing that you might want to experience seeing, is the installation of the processor and heatsink. sometimes gotta be forceful w/ that **** heatsink. but if too much so, might damage the MB....maybe take apart your current machine and put it back together? if you can do that, you can build your own....sorry, my thoughts are all over this morning....neeeeddd cofffeee
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 11:25 AM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

i made a comp w/o any knowledge of it. i researched about a week and just built it. so i guess its ez like that. just make sure u r not too drunk.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I have been following the new Intel line pretty closely so let me try to clarify.

The newest current dual core out from Intel out now for the desktop is the 9xx series. These are still P4 based chips but on 65nm. Not worth a purchase IMO.

Core Duo (aka Yonah) has just recently been released for the mobile line. It is a dual core mobile processor based on Intel's new architecture. While these chips are very impressive there is currently no desktop boards out for them yet (it's looking like the AOpen board will be here in March).

Conroe is coming in June/July time frame. It is also a dual core CPU based on the new architecture. This chip is looking to be very impressive, and like what has been said, could very well give the lead back to Intel. Conroe will have initial clocks of ~1.9Ghz to ~2.7Ghz depending on model number, and an XE at 3.33Ghz has also been announced.

Memron will also be coming out probably after Conroe maybe fall time, not sure. This will simply be an updated mobile Core Duo with 64-bit.

On the other side. AMD's new socket and CPU's are coming out I believe this summer as will, AM2. These chips will use DDR2 memory and have higher HTT speeds.

My advice would be to wait until this summer if you can, see how Conroe and AM2 compare to each other and pick the best one.

BTW, if you still end up not feeling comfortable building yourself when you are ready to buy, sites like Monarchcomputers will assemble parts you pick out for you.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yes .. if you could wait ....and dont go with alienware unless you have money or really have to have that case....... i got major jipped for my alienware rig .. but i still love it YAY now i can say i hit 300 posts .. and they all were true qualitly posts
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 03:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Idiotec, nice info, but you are sure about the clockspeeds? I could've sworn that Conroe was 2.33GHz max.

F**K! I take that back. Just checked, you're perfectly right. And whats more, these things are priced beautifully. The 2.4GHz Conroe (and note that this is a Dual Core) is supposed to be $315. Thats better than Athlon 64 X2 4800+ performance, for $500 cheaper. Beautiful.

And the extreme edition...3.33Ghz...I dare you to tell me that a Athlon 64 FX-60 with AM2 enhancements is going to even TOUCH a 3.33GHz Conroe...

Oh !-!ell Yes
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 03:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Yeah, I was really stoked to see how they are going to be priced as well. I agree, the 2.4Ghz also has the 4mb cache and looks to be maybe the best price/performance option. OC that thing to 333x9=3Ghz with DDR2-667 and look out
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 08:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Advanced Micro Devices...
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:34 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Now if only they had put the memory controller on die...
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 10:54 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Now if only they had put the memory controller on die...
I know

But.....from what I have ready they are supposed to add an IMC to the server line in 2007, and maybe the desktop line in 2008. We'll see
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.