whats this mean? mobo question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default whats this mean? mobo question

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157097

thats the product uder other slots it says
other slots - z x Future CPU Port (Supports CPU upgrade from AMD Socket 939 CPU to Socket AM2 CPU through AM2CPU Board

whats that mean?
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

it allows you to use this:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/AM2CPU%20Board.asp
__________________

__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSXmike
it allows you to use this:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/AM2CPU%20Board.asp
wow.....never heard of this before.......could u support 2 dual core processors or no?

sry if it's a noobish question, but ive never seen this before :-o
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I think you meant supporting two sockets, and I think yes you can. But I don't think you can use them at the same time. You can support two dual core processors, via a dual socket motherboard.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wildside
wow.....never heard of this before.......could u support 2 dual core processors or no?

sry if it's a noobish question, but ive never seen this before :-o
no... its just an upgrade...

it allows you to not have to buy a new motherboard just for an am2 cpu...
__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you definitely can't use two cpus on that board at the same time. only s940/socket F boards have dual cpu support. you must also get the series of cpu appropriate to how many processors will be onboard, e.g with s940 2xx series for 2 or 8xx series for up to 8.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSXmike
no... its just an upgrade...

it allows you to not have to buy a new motherboard just for an am2 cpu...
o i c, that makes sense, but the downside is if u dont have that kind of slot, u cant upgrade without buying a whole new mobo.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.