What's a good CRT? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 05:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by http://firingsquad.com/hardware/wind...p_lcd_roundup/
All HDCP does is guarantee that premium high-definition content can be output over a digital display interface such as HDMI or DVI.
Well, I dunno. It either works because CRT's mainly use analog signal, or it won't work because of the very same reason.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 02:58 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

(Slight hijack, but relevent) is a dot pitch of 0.20 too small for a 21" monitor?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:29 AM   #23 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Smaller dot pitch is better.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 10:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
(Slight hijack, but relevent) is a dot pitch of 0.20 too small for a 21" monitor?
Yep, like theMajor said, the smaller the dp, the better.

Dot Pitch Explained
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I was told that .24 is the optinum size on a 19" CRT?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:30 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
I was told that .24 is the optinum size on a 19" CRT?
Optimum, as in "at least."
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

What do you think of this monitor: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

It is around the corner from me (20miles) and from my previous experience, there are not many people around me interested in CRT monitors as I got a £150 IIYAMA (ebay price) for £46
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.