What's a good build for $800 max? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default What's a good build for $800 max?

Ok, I already have a computer and the specs are:

P4 1.8 processor
80GB Seagate HD
512MB RAM (Well, really 1GB, but can't figure RAM out as said in my other post)
9700PRO 128MB ATI Radeon graphics card
Soundblaster LIVE sound card
Antec tower w/ 300W power supply

Ok, well I want to do a MAJOR upgrade to this build. I want to spend between 600-800 at most. I want to keep the video card and case because that will help cutdown on cost. Would I need a more powerful power supply?

So what I need to know is what's the best way to spend between:

Proccesor
Motherboard
Harddrive
Sound Card

Thank you so much for any suggestions.

-Kyle
__________________

__________________
My Webpage

My Blog
kyman_33 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

What kind of graphics card is that? AGP?
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

No idea. It's in a brown looking slot nex to a row of a bunch of identical white slots the sounds card, USB thingy, and internet modem are on. It's in a differnet brown slot just othe right of those.

Sorry, total newb.

EDIT: Oh, and the rig will be used for lots of Music, Internet, Photoshop, and Gaming. So I figured I'll need something pretty powerful.
__________________
My Webpage

My Blog
kyman_33 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

okay, well judging by the processor, I'm assuming it's AGP.

Here's one scenario
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester - $322
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-K8U-939 - $58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128307
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 250GB - $104.50
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148065
total: $484.50

I always use the onboard audio, so I didn't include a soundcard. You don't really need one. I've determined that the 250gb is the best value with the lowest cost per gb. So, unless you have bigger storage needs, that's the one I would go with.

There's still plenty left over, so you could upgrade the processor to this one instead(same other parts):
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester - $400
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547

that's a total of $562.50 for the upgrade with the second processor, and still plenty left over for a nice new power supply.

There was a thread with long discussion about choosing a power supply recently. It's on the uber budget PC thread, I believe.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Well i say upgrade your processor which means upgrade your ram which means upgrading your video card which means upgrading your video card which means upgrading your whole computer which means your buying a whole new computer

for 600-800 you can build a nice AMD system with an AGP graphics port for your 9700

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
MSI K8N NEo2-PLATINUM *o what a suprise im selling mines because i have PCIE-16 so you can buy my mobo how wonderful*
9700 your graphics card
Corsair valueselect 1GB
Fortron 450W power supply
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Does the DFI Lanpartywork fine with that procesor and videocard too?

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152
$132

Thank you very much for the good ideas.
__________________
My Webpage

My Blog
kyman_33 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

no thats board is pci x you need an AGP port
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

It doesn't work with an AGP video card. It has a PCI-E slot. It would work, though, for the processors I listed. But you couldn't use your graphics card.
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 05:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default

So he suggested this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130484

That doesn't have AGP either, does it? Ugh...
__________________
My Webpage

My Blog
kyman_33 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 05:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

No, but the one I listed does.
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.