Whats goin on here?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2006, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default Whats goin on here??

-for anyone who cares, i posted this thread in the general pc forum, and wasnt sure if it related to general or preformance so im posting here too.


***several days ago i recieved a brand new Dell XPS m140 as a gift. It is running a windows XP os (just to clarify) The processor is running at 2.0 ghz, Pentium M, and there are 2gb, yes two gigabites of ram...

thats where i worry. because although it is running in dual channel mode...2 gb is alot, and i certainly dont use it all up for basically anything i do (the most memory sucking program i run is 3d cad...but it isnt that intense)

i have a problem though...my mouse pointer shows an hour glass thing for fractions of a second, very frequently, even when im not doing anything. im wondering if this has to do with the whopping amount of RAM the computer is operating with. ?

What should i do?? if need be, i would prefferably like to set configurations in my computer to better utilize this memory, rather than remove the extra stick... i dont know, im no expert and need anyones help.

i really appreciate your input

thanks,
gabe
__________________

atomic3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

...you make it sound like 2 gigabytes of ram is a huge amount..... umm no, its average in custom built pc's these days... so no it has nothing to do with that...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Welcome to the forum, atomic3.

The 2GB of memory is great. Don't ever be concerned about having too much memory. Many of the new games are memory hungry and to run smoothly, they require that much.

As for the hour-glass. This is more related to your HDD. It appears when your HDD is seeking data. You may have a HDD problem.
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

or not... windows is constantly having to grab new stuff to keep it running.. its like water, evertyhing needs its recources... and yes, you can be concerened with too much memory.. for example, 4 gigs sucks.. lol
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

the more the merrier, i say :-P

im getting 2 more gigs to ad to my current 2 gigs, and my other computer has 8gigs :-D
The General is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default

well, aside from the hourglass querk...ive been real happy with it. it does get the job done and fast i might add...but i have so much extra memory. im glad no one is concerned about that, but do you know anything i can do to make use of some of the extra? can i give some to another resourse to put it to use and make other things alittle more snappy?

thanks again,
gabe
atomic3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well, do you do a lot of RAM extensive tasks, such as gaming?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default

there are times when i do alot of multitasking, but nothing too much...so thats why im thinking 2gb is too much for a notebook used primarily for media and occationaly heavy multi tasking and 3d cad.
atomic3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

My advice to you is, set back, relax and enjoy computing with a good machine.

The 2GB of memory will do nothing to cause you problems!
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Well, it's not doing anything but helping your system run better. 2gb is awesome, you should be happy with what you have. If you do a lot of multi tasking and CAD, then you will probably be utilizing a lot of the RAM.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.