What's faster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default What's faster?

Ok, what's faster, 2 80 gig SATAII HD's 7200RPM, 8mb cache, in a RAID 0


Normal HD

or

A Raptor, 74gig, 10,000RPM, 16mb cache by its self?

Raptor


The Raptor's more expensive, so I was thinking of getting those 2 in a RAID 0, but the Rapto's got a rebate, so if it's a huge increase, I'll go w/ the raptor...
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

the raptor would definately be faster.....the number of drives doesnt matter if you are just geting your information from one drive, but the 10,000rpm is much faster then the 7200rpm
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/storage/sho...px?i=2577&p=11

I don't particually like the Raptors, mainly because I don't mind waiting. I am not obssesed so much, that I have to be the first one in a server when the map reloads. I prefer to have the space.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

... Ya, I know 10,000RPM is faster, but if the two 7200RPM drives were in RAID 0, would they be faster?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I prefer more hdd space than speed. Over 4x the data storage, for $50 less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

... I have plenty of space. I'm shooting for a fast OS/programs drive. That's why I'm considering a RAID0. Normally I'd be too fearful of doing that, but this would be something that if it failed would be just a short reinstall.

So is a raptor w/ 16mb cache faster than 2 8mb cache 7200RPM drives?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

i don't know if its faster but you can always get another raptor down the road and raid them while you would have to get two new hd's if you wanted the same RAID perf
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Default

If you are a noise freak the 10,000rpm ones are louder.

tom
Shifter is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yeah the raptors do run a bit loud.

I use a 250GB 16mb 7800rpm drive as my main and a raptor 36 gig to back up files. I can vouch that the raptors aren't worthe the money.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea, true, raptors arnt worth it, in fact i may just sell mine...hmmm

actully, back to the origanl question, cos im curious too?

what is a faster a raid 0, or a raptor?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.