Whats the deal with the Athlon 64? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default Whats the deal with the Athlon 64?

Ok. I've been out of the loop for a little while. All of the systems i've built have been non-64 systems, and i've noticed now that most of the vendors are carrying 64bit motherboards & processors, which is now officially making all non-64 systems obsolete (even though i personally love my soon to be archaic 32bit systems!).

Well, i come to ask this question... what's the deal with the Athlon 64?

I mean... i remember a year ago people were posting fears about how certain programs wouldn't work, how you'd need a 64bit version of windows, how most hardware wouldn't work properly, i'm sure alot of it was just projected fears about the new change in the upcoming wave of new processors, but how much of it is true?

I have yet to build an athlon 64 system. I'm actually thinking about building my first in the next 2 weeks, and i'm researching parts for it. I might start placing orders by tuesday for all my parts. I'm wondering though, and again i stress the fact that i've been out of the loop for a while now, are there compabitility issues with the athlon 64 systems and software? Are there any issues i should be aware of when putting a 64 system together that i'm not already aware of when i build my normal run of the mill 32bit systems? Aside from the usual things: get a 64bit processor for a 64bit board, etc.

I'd like to hear from those who have built athlon 64 systems. Does one need anything special to put one of these babies together, or is it just like building any other pc? Fill me in, please! I know the cache's are much larger, and the fsb has more than doubled since the days of the regular athlon xps.
__________________

__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The Athlon 64's can run 32bit and 64 bit instructions. Everything will work fine. The problems you described would only occur if it was 64 bit only.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Hmm. Interesting.

Does someone actually make a 64 bit only processor then?
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

I do believe the Intel Itanium is a 64-bit only processor. Correct me if i'm wrong, though.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You wouldn't want a 64-bit only processor.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

yeah, those are for servers, AMD has a 64 bit server processer, and so does Intel.
macdawg is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

AMD's server CPU is the same as their desktop cpu (socket 939 anyways).
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 12:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Thanks everyone. You've made me feel more comfortable jumping into the amd64 universe. I can rest undisturbed now knowing i should have no problems putting together my next build.

Order is going out tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.