whats the better processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default whats the better processor?

Im look at laptops and i cant decide between the 2 cpu's. Can anyone tell me which is better, and if its a big difference or not.

1)AMD Mobile Athlon 64 Processor 4000+ and 2.6GHz Processor Speed

2)Intel® Core™ Duo processor T2300 1.6GHz
__________________

mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Give links to both of them. It depends if that intel is one of the new ones.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

SYSTEM COMPONENTS
Inspiron 6400 Dual Core Qty 1
Intel® Core™ Duo processor T2300 (2MB Cache/1.66GHz/667MHz FSB), Genuine Windows® XP Home Unit Price $1,349.00
Dell Customers: Savings on your Online Purchase
Expires March 10, 2006
- $250.00

Catalog Number: 70702
Module Description Show Details
Inspiron 6400 Intel® Core™ Duo processor T2300 (2MB Cache/1.66GHz/667MHz FSB)
Operating System Genuine Windows® XP Home
LCD Panel 15.4 inch Wide Screen XGA Display
Memory Free Upgrade to 1GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533Mhz
Video Card Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Hard Drive 60GB Hard Drive
Network Card and Modem Integrated 10/100 Network Card and Modem
Adobe Software Adobe® Acrobat® Reader 6.0
Combo/DVD+RW Drives 8X CD/DVD Burner (DVD+/-RW) with double-layer DVD+R write capability
Wireless Networking Cards Intel PRO/Wireless 3945 802.11a/g Mini Card (54Mbps)
Office Productivity Software (Pre-Installed) No productivity suite- Corel WordPerfect word processor only
Anti-Virus/Security Suite (Pre-installed) McAfee Security Center w/ VirusScan, Firewall and Privacy, 90-day trial
Primary Battery 53 WHr 6-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
Hardware Support Services 1 Yr Return to Depot Service with 1 Yr Tech Support
Operating System Backup & Recovery PC Restore recovery system by Symantec

TOTAL:$1,099.00

^^ Its a brand new dell laptop
mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

anyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyone????
mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

it depends on what your doing. dual core for multitasking and the amd one for gaming.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

bit of advice.. if you stick with that one, get rid of mcaffee as soon as you can and download yourself a copy of AVG, Spybot, Adaware, firefox, and zonealarm.. tweaknow and/or ewido would be nice too... mcafee sucks in my opinion O_o
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

Well ill be doing a bit of work on it, a bit of graphics stuff (flash, photoshop) and some gaming.
and yeah i always hated mcaffee, i use AV right now on my system :P
mikey_4644 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Are they both laptops?

If you plan on leaving a mains point at any time go withthe Intel.

Both will cope well for those tasks. I will probally still go for the AMD, but if the Duo is a dual core it will be a tough choice.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 09:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i hate to say it but go for the intel. the dual core wins in this case. the thing is though i'm betting that consumes a fair bit of power.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 09:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
firefox
Or Opera.
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.