whats best for a gaming PC dual 1024mb DDR or 4x 512mb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Question whats best for a gaming PC dual 1024mb DDR or 4x 512mb?

sems that mostly people that go 2 gb use dual 1024mb and the 2 other slots (mostly MBs i've seen got 4 slots) left are only used for 4gb setup.
but shouldn't 4x512 be better as you use 4 connectors instead of 2 and logically you should get the doubble bandwidth?
__________________

[SF]MKM is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

2x1 gb is better... Run a search next time.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default

yeh, if you have two sticks of 1gb, you can run it in dual channel, its a huge advantage
Curry Viking is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you can run in dual channel with 4 sticks also... As long as the pairs of sticks are matching, it's fine.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Default

i found a post stating that 2 are better than 4 because it only has to search 2 modules instead of 4.
[SF]MKM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.