Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to PeediCracker631
Default Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo?

AM37 FIC Motherboard Mainboard Drivers Manuals BIOS

I was looking to upgrade it somehow
__________________

__________________
refs-
eBay-xXFlyingRiceXx
InsiderForumsFeedback
PeediCracker631 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo?

Socket A... ur limited to an Athlon XP Processor
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo?

I have that mobo in a couple of pre-builts. it is socket A (as Vern said), and can run up to a 2400+ at full speed. Anything over that gets throttled back due to FSB.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo?

Its probably not worth upgrading since unless your running a really slow cpu you won't see much of a difference. Unless you can get the chip cheap.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Whats the best CPU i can put on this mobo?

Heh heh... one of the boxes is my wife's computer/media center, the other was given to me.

Both work great, but compared to mine they are sooooo slooooow.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS m2n sli deluxe mobo problem. possibly cpu galvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-24-2007 02:04 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
New mobo, new CPU, and no booting CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-26-2007 04:47 PM
Is this cpu and mobo gonna be compatible? Phase-Six System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 03:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.