What's the advantage of AMD over Pentium? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default What's the advantage of AMD over Pentium?

I've read tons of posts and numerous threads and articles on the subject and I have yet to actually understand what anyone is talking about.

I have always been a Pentium person but want to make the jump to AMD. Now logic tells me that a P4 3.8 would be faster than an AMD 3800+ that runs at 2.0, but then again we are talking about computers so logic pretty much gets thrown right out the window.

Someone take this bag of snakes and lay them out straight for me. What exactly is it that would make the AMD chip run games faster?
__________________

Mier is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

AMD 3800 = P4 3.8ghz. Ghz mean nothing.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Easy to explain but much more difficult to get a visual picture of and try and understand but I will try

Clock frequency is simply the measurement of how quickly a processor can perform an operation, and an operation within a processor is the process of carrying an instruction set down a pipeline from point A to point B meeting a number of stages while travelling down that pipeline that allow the processor to use the instruction set

Therefore, one can define 1Hz as the time it takes x to travel from A to B. Now, assume you have a Pentium 4 Prescott and an AMD64, both use pipelines to process instruction sets. I believe the AMD64 has 12 pipeline stages versus the prescott that has 30 stages but don't quote me on those numbers...it is evident the Pentium has much longer pipelines than the Athlon

If you were to look back at the basic formula, you would see that 1Hz on an AMD would not be equal to 1Hz on an Intel considering the pipeline length...the AMD is able to execute the instruction set much faster than the Intel therefore it requires less number of Hz to perform similar tasks
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Well explained gaara
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...an+intel+clock

That should help to answer questions.

EDIT:

I just noticed gaara's explanation after my original post here

Yes, Athlon64s have 12 pipelines. Yonahs have between 12 and 14, and Conroes have 14. FYI, PIIIs have 10.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

**** if you would of asked this yester day i was reading a post on some other forums about AMD and intel, it provided a visual discription of what gaara said with the pipelines and such and a very long in depth description, it was like 2 pages of posts that told the difference.

ill try and google it up for ya.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 08:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the explanation guys especially gaara for the long in depth bit. I think I get it now. So basically the Athlon 64 x2 3800 that I am buying will do good for gaming for me.
Mier is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Simply put, AMD rocks Intel in every aspect of computing thanx to their Dual core CPUs. And AMD is WAYYYY Cheaper.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

No, not anymore. Since the introduction of the Yonah, they have a bit of an advantage over AMD in the portable market. Not to mention, the Pentium M is still insanely great.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
No, not anymore. Since the introduction of the Yonah, they have a bit of an advantage over AMD in the portable market. Not to mention, the Pentium M is still insanely great.
IMO, since they have had the Dothan core Intel has dominated performance-wise in the mobile market. Mind you Yonah core isn't far off of Dothan.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.