What would help my performance the most??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2009, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 55
Default What would help my performance the most???

Ok, I recently built my first computer a couple of months ago for about $800 and now, that I've had it for a while, Im beginning to realize that i cheaped out on some stuff that I really shouldnt have, mainly my motherboard. So what my question is....what would help my performance more right now (what should I upgrade?)

Heres what I got:

Newegg.com - ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4850 TOP/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I have windows vista 64-bit on a 640 hdd (western digital caviar) So tell me what you think I should get....
__________________

tbinnerarity is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California ;)
Posts: 181
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Get a CPU cooler, and overclock your cpu. You can overclock your 4850 too. The CPU cooler depends on the size of the case.
__________________

scrimstar is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 01:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Well I think that might not go to well; I'm using a similar motherboard and a brisbane X2, and I haven't really been able to overclock my thing at all -- at all. I hear a lot of brisbanes are like this, especially when using low end motherboards.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

With that setup I would upgrade the proc (phenom II?) and then get a new motherboard at a later point in time.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

get this mobo and you can overclock now and upgrade cpu later Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3 AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards then all u need is a heatsink/fan
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Definitely don't get that 770 mobo, you can't upgrade too far with that one. To upgrade to the PIIs, you want a 790GX motherboard at least. There's lots of good ones for not much more money than that 770.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 55
Default

The overclocking is a negative.....It is pretty much impossible with that motherboard. I am overclocking the 4850 a good bit. But so the Phenom II's would be the way to go?

I will be getting a different motherboard first though. Ill just have to upgrade the processor later.

what if I did this???

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

and

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

How would that work out???
tbinnerarity is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Definitely don't get that 770 mobo, you can't upgrade too far with that one. To upgrade to the PIIs, you want a 790GX motherboard at least. There's lots of good ones for not much more money than that 770.
Agreed...

Newegg.com - ASRock A780GXE&#47;128M AM2&#43;&#47;AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

My new favorite 780G board

I call it the mini-790GX

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbinnerarity View Post
The overclocking is a negative.....It is pretty much impossible with that motherboard. I am overclocking the 4850 a good bit. But so the Phenom II's would be the way to go?

I will be getting a different motherboard first though. Ill just have to upgrade the processor later.

what if I did this???

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

and

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

How would that work out???
Looks sweet! Maybe if you want to cutback on prices check out the ASrock 780g I mentioned above
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 12:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Quote:
There is presently only one way to fix this bottleneck. A Solid State DDR drive. Please do not confuse flash SSDs with DDR SSDs. They are entirely different devices. Sure they are both solid state, but then so is a lump of concrete.
What are you using for your c drive?
HyperOs Systems
This video helped me understand what kind of increase to expect.
Patriot Warp 32GB Solid State Hard Drive - SATA-300, 2.5" PE32GS25SSDR at TigerDirect.com
Osiris says this
Optimize Windows For Solid State Drives Usage
NosBoost300 notes xp compatibility problems
OCZ Solid State 30GB SSD
__________________
asus striker extreme/e6850/4g ddr2 800/8800gts640sli
septic is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: What would help my performance the most???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbinnerarity View Post
What would help my performance the most???
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbinnerarity View Post
I have windows vista 64-bit on a 640 hdd (western digital caviar) So tell me what you think I should get....

Roll back to Xp.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA 4 - tweaking performance and fixing issues guide Wildside PC Gaming 7 12-22-2008 04:12 PM
Vista SP1 Performance and Tuning, Courtesy of Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-30-2008 06:47 PM
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.