What video card to get until G80? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default What video card to get until G80?

Ok, I want to get a video card to keep my happy until G80. But I don't want to spend alot of money, obviously, saving most of it for a new G80 card. Here are my options:

GeForce 6200TC Turbo Cache PCI-Express
GeForce 6200 128MB PCI-Express
GeForce 7300 GS 128MB PCI Express
GeForce 6200 256MB PCI Express
GeForce 6500 128MB PCI Express
GeForce 7300 GS 256MB PCI Express
GeForce 6500 256MB PCI Express
GeForce 6600 256MB PCI Express
GeForce 6600 128MB PCI Express

If anyone could reccommend which is the best out of these cards, it would be much appreciated.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Out of those the i say the 6600,Either the 128 or 256 it dosen't really matter,But i would spend a little extra and get a GT instead
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get the 7300 off the list, it's ***. 6600.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
Out of those the i say the 6600,Either the 128 or 256 it dosen't really matter,But i would spend a little extra and get a GT instead
A 6600GT goes a little bit over my budget, which is $150 NZD.

So it doesn't matter what vanilla 6600 I go with? Wouldn't the 256mb version of it be better?

EDIT: Any ATi cards worth considering in this type of price range?
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 11:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

X1300 perhaps....its better than the 6200 and if you look around it can be had for about $10-$15 more (aus dollars so similar)
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ok, so I've narrowed it down to these ones.

GeForce 6600 256MB PCI Express
GeForce 6600 128MB PCI Express
Radeon X1300 128MB PCI Express
Radeon X1300 Pro 256MB PCI Express
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the x1300 isn't exactly brilliant so if you can afford the 6600 i would get that. i only mentioned the x1300 because you asked about ATI cards in that range and that was the only one that came to mind, but i don't know ATI cards very well. i was looking at the x1300 to replace my 6200 mainly to setup dual monitors as my card only has a single DVI output.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Since your setup is going to nearly just like mine, nitestick, can you mention some of the latest FPS games and what FPS you get on them with that card? I'm curious as to what FPS you get on HL2 for example, and BF2.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

because HL2 is mostly cpu intensive, you can get pretty decent FPS with a low card. at 1024x768 i think i average around a minimum of 35-40fps and up to around 70fps. absolute minimum it dips to for short periods of time is about 19fps. this is with most of the settings except AA maxed. i can't remember exactly because its been a while since i've played and i don't use fraps anymore becasue having it installed somehow interferes with my video encoder. BF2 can get decent fram rates over 30 FPS with low settings and a few at medium.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 05:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Wow, that's a better FPS rate than I expected. I may just get a 6200TC, it costs under $100 over here, and it only has to last me until G80, which is supposedly June.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.