what size psu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2008, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default

what would be a good MODULAR psu that will power this system with some headroom for overclocking? what kind of wattage should i be looking at?

q8200
dfi p45 dark
4 gigs ocz reaper ddr3 1333
evga 9800GTX+
seagate 7200.11 1tb
samsung dvd-/+rw w/ lightscribe
zerotherm nirvana
possibly a cathode?

any input would be awesome

would the corsair 520hx work or is it not enought wattage/amperage?

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
__________________

Balishang is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 06:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: what size psu?

yes 520hx would work
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 06:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: what size psu?

yeah... it doesnt look like you're going to be CFing that rig, so any decent (Corsair, PC P&C, Silverstone, etc.) PSU over 500W should be fine
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Re: what size psu?

okay and will i run into any problems with overclocking?
Balishang is offline  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: what size psu?

no you should have plenty of OCing headroom on that rig... personally i'd like a 600W on that one, but i love overhead... dont worry.. a 520W Corsair will have enough amps to run a GTX 280 and a QX9650 with decent OCs on both... really, its powerful!
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size PSU would you recommend? Jayce System Upgrades 18 10-07-2008 08:46 PM
Loss of Important Files (...) During Changing its Partition's Cluster Size iceq2 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-23-2008 05:44 PM
My home PC hijackthis log BrendanGrady HijackThis Logs (finished) 19 02-04-2008 11:15 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.