What should one look for when shopping for quality gaming RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2005, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mr_wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Default What should one look for when shopping for quality gaming RAM?

Is DDR2 really worth it? How much better is it than normal DDR? What other things should I consider? Thanks.
__________________

mr_wizard is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mr_wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Default

I noticed theres PC 2 or PC6400 800mhz? What do you need on a motherboard to run that? Is it alot better than PC3200 400mhz?
__________________

mr_wizard is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well, Athlon 64's are not bottlenecked by DDR1. they have an onboard memory controller, so they still get high memory bandwith against Intel's with DDR2.

DDR2 is currently only used on Intel socket 775 systems, however AMD are making a new socket called M2 which will support DDR2.

DDR2 Intel systems do not really have much against Athlon 64's with DDR1. the RAM itself has high speeds, but it has to go through a motherboard memory controller to get to the CPU. Athlon 64's communicate to RAM directly, so the difference is so far negligible.
although it will be a different story when AMD does bring out M2. their onboard memory controller will make much more use of DDR2 than Intel socket 775 systems.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Apokalipse covered everything pretty good for you there. If you want even more info have a look at my guide to RAM
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

I'm running DDR1 with my P4 775. I thought this didn't work?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
I'm running DDR1 with my P4 775. I thought this didn't work?
He didnt say that skt775 only used DDR2. He said that DDR2 is only on skt775.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.