what should i do - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 08:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

You could do that.. take the other stick out (leaving you 2 gigs) and put it away til you get vista, where it will actually be used..
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

If you have 3gb, your ram won't run in dual channel. And 2gb of ram in dual channel is faster than 3gb, not in dual channel.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

u guys think ill get a big improvement?

i no im not good with computers it just dont make sense to me cuase usaualy more the better but i guess xp just likes it up the butt and wants to be gay
mattowns is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:49 PM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Even though XP can handle 3gb of ram, it doesn't use all of it efficiently. XP works best with 2gb.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

so this is what i should do

1. take 2 gigs out
2. get e6400
3. get vista
4. put 2 gigs in
5. pray to god i get better fps and works better
mattowns is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Pretty much right. Well you don't have to worry about step 5, it's a guarantee, when you get a C2D.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Default

lol ok
__________________

mattowns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.