What setup for 24" at 1920x1200 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2008, 05:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Thanks.

Thinking about EVGA x58.
What do you think of it?

The only stats I have seen group
all of the 260's and 280's together.

How much better would these be?

gtx 260 core 216 sc
gtx 280
gtx 280 sc
gtx 280 ftw

I want to have the option to add
a second in about six months.
How would they be at x 2?
and is 260 x 2 <=> 280 x 1?
__________________

kbaird is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 06:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Dude, two 260s would totally kill a 280.
__________________

Druid is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbaird View Post
Thanks.

Thinking about EVGA x58.
What do you think of it?

The only stats I have seen group
all of the 260's and 280's together.

How much better would these be?

gtx 260 core 216 sc
gtx 280
gtx 280 sc
gtx 280 ftw

I want to have the option to add
a second in about six months.
How would they be at x 2?
and is 260 x 2 <=> 280 x 1?
Two GTX 260's beat a GTX 280..

But May I recommend the GTX 260 Core 216 over any GTX 260 or an HD 4870
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Thanks.

Only been looking at this
stuff for a couple of weeks.

If I go with 260 I will get Core 216 SC.
Is one 260 core 216 plenty for my setup?

How much would difference would there
be between 2 x 260's and 2 x 280's?

( 24" at 1920x1200 )
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

2 260's are slower than 2 280's

Two GTX 260's Core 216's are nearly equal to 280's but is a good bit cheaper...

AND PLEASE DO NOT BUY SUPERCLOCKED CARDS... OC THEM YOURSELF FOR FREE!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Do you already have the listed system up and running? If that's the case, your current gtx 260 is fine. If you're looking to buy a new card, that's different.

Also, do you have a 24" screen, or looking to get one?
Inserity is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

My 260 SSC(paid for vanilla )runs everything maxxed out in wow at 1920x1200 just great. I have SLI disabled until i rebuild and get back on vista. Dual monitor support on SLI is only available in vista.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Thanks for the info.

Running system with monitor.

Trying clocking, have thread in oc forum.

So the 260 should be fine for 24", Ok

Did a 1024x768 crysis gpu test and
it said 44-48 fps, is that to low?
It does seem a little choppy.
kbaird is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Don't some console games run at like 30fps? Fps in the 40s should be good.
Druid is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 10:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: What setup for 24" at 1920x1200

Crysis really is a terrible game to use for benching. Even tri-sli doesnt like that game. It was poorly coded and optimized for crap. theres a reason that warhead uses a different engine.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Useful list of Linux websites. tribalsun Linux and Open Source 39 03-22-2015 04:54 AM
Setup is loading files (kernel debuffer DLL)... Payne99 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-26-2008 02:18 PM
dual-boot partition setup darkop16 Linux and Open Source 28 12-30-2007 07:40 PM
Lost Boot setup D.Arbib Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-10-2007 09:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.